back lighting question

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by namethisfile, Sep 10, 2011.

1. namethisfile, Sep 10, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2011

namethisfile macrumors 6502a

namethisfile

hey guys,

just got the new asus pa238q, an ips display. i love it! great colors and everything. even matches my mbp in color temperature out of the box. i didn't even have to tinker with it at all. although, i am not a professional photo editor, i do edit photos quite often and wanted the convenience of a bigger screen than my mbp's 15" and match if not exceed the mbp's color performance. i figured that i needed an ips monitor and the asus is one of three that i found that is under $300. not bad. so i got one without reserve even though it is a relatively new item that hardly any reviews are available except those from overseas. i don't want to turn this into a review of the monitor though so i will cut to the chase.

i have had the monitor for 2 days now and noticed the back lighting issue when watching a movie. i then investigated further by creating a few solid colors with a graphics editor like photoshop or pixelmator and used preview to make it fullscreen--a very handy if not nerve-wracking feature if used in this way. fortunately, i did not find stuck or dead pixels. phew! but i did notice the back lighting leakage more. i am not sure what is acceptable because i know most if not all lcd's use backlighting and they do tend to leak. right? anyway, i took a photo of the monitor with a solid black background color and as you can see, there is some leakage--especially on the upper right side of the panel.

here is the photo:

[​IMG]

my question is, is this acceptable? and by acceptable, is this worse than normal? and by normal, i guess, should i bother returning it?

i did just get it so i can probably return it to the retailer.

thanks in advance.

----------------------

anyone?