Back to Mac from Ios or Intel?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Airforcekid, Oct 13, 2010.

  1. Airforcekid macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #1
    I doubt it but could apple be releasing an apple CPU for the new MacBook air that runs snow leopard? I doubt it but they could be introducing the g6 PowerBook to get rid of graphic limits. I'm hoping it means getting back from the IOS scene and focusing on their computers.
     
  2. MacQuest macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2003
    Location:
    You See Dead People...
    #2
    You're way off because...

    "G5 PowerBooks NEXT TUESDAY!!!".

    Sorry fellow long term MR members, I just had to do it.
    ;)
     
  3. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #3
    I very very highly doubt it. That would either require them to design an x86 processor (which would be pretty pointless), or entirely retool SL (or release 10.7) to include code for a different architecture. So it's pretty impractical, at least at this point.
     
  4. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #4
    IMO, one of the big reasons for Apple's recent increase in Mac sales is because of the Intel processors. Not because Intel is necessarily better than the PowerPC line but because an Intel chip brings Bootcamp, Parallels and Fusion to the party and means people can continue to run their Windows Apps if necessary.
    This makes the transition to Macs less risky and therefore a "safer" choice. Moving away from Intel would be a backward step for these reasons and that's why I don't think Apple will do it in the foreseeable future.
     
  5. Airforcekid thread starter macrumors 65816

    Airforcekid

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Location:
    United States of America
    #5
    So we will see an iMac G6 with a touchscreen.....:rolleyes:
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Intel or AMD is needed for x86 support. If Apple used ARM, then it would very likely use some kind of iOS version. Emulating 10.6 for ARM would be terrible when considering the performance of ARM chips. Besides, MBA's market share isn't big enough to make it worthwhile.

    IBMs are not designed for laptops and cost a fortune
     
  7. circularforward macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    #7
    That was one of the main reasons I switched to Mac last year. I don't think I would have otherwise if I knew that I would have to switch completely and leave behind all the Windows programs and knowledge that I had accumulated. Even now, I keep a Windows VM for AnyDVD, CloneDVD, and my scanner software that still don't have a Mac equivalent.
     
  8. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #8
    Design their own processor for a niche product? Come on.
     
  9. mbisson macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    #9
    What have you been smoking?

    Seriously though, no I don't think there is any chance of Apple moving away from x86 chips.
     
  10. racer1441 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    #10
    Who's air doesn't run Snow Leopard right now?
     
  11. Scottsdale macrumors 601

    Scottsdale

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    #11
    NO NO NO. Not going to happen for many years. The day that the MBA gets an ARM CPU is the day that all other Macs get ARM CPUs and Apple switches the entire OS. Basically, OS XI Maybe, but not anytime soon and not OS X running on ARM now.

    Only thing that could happen is an iA, meaning iAir netbook that runs iOS, but it wouldn't be a "MacBook" Air if it didn't run Mac OS X operating system.

    This could be on someone's dream list, but it's so far away that it's a complete waste for this forum to discuss this. Only other thing is iOS emulator running on OS X itself somehow. Either way, we're not going to get an MBA that eliminates an x86/x64 CPU model for ARM anytime soon.
     
  12. Santabean2000 macrumors 68000

    Santabean2000

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #12
    Apple to include an AMD cpu..? Fed up with Intel's bully-boy tatics with nvidia and crapol graphics. The MBA to pioneer new energy custom chip, ala first MBA with Intel.

    Wouldn't say Intel has done Apple any favors recently. No priority queue. No custom chips. And ever increasing noises about competing with the ARM for mobile devices.

    Just throwing it out there.
     
  13. garybUK Guest

    garybUK

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    #13
    Why should intel give priority to Apple when they aren't their biggest vendors (only 10% and thats just in the US!), Custom chips? not in Intel's or Apple's interest because it drives up production cost. Noises about competing with ARM, well ARM licenses the design to Apple who happen to produce their chip (A4) based on this design, it's actually Apple showing competition against Intel, why should Intel give them preference when they are doing this?

    I hope they bring i3/i5 chips to the MBP 13", maybe a i3 chip to the Air?

    I also hope they don't introduce that horrible patent of Ad supported OSX that was floating around a few months ago.... shudder!
     
  14. kryca macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #14
    Think MacBook Duo where you can slide in an iPad... auto-inject! :)
     
  15. Santabean2000 macrumors 68000

    Santabean2000

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    #15
    Because Apple dominates all tech media coverage worldwide esp now more than ever.

    They have before.

    Same same, but different.

    And bring crappy Intel graphics; you'd be the only one...

    Agreed.
     
  16. cubist macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Location:
    Muncie, Indiana
    #16
    Apple will never use AMD chips. They are locked in, like Dell. Intel's the nastiest, dirtiest, most thuggish company in the industry. They're like the Mafia, once you start dealing with them, you don't even look at the competition. "Shame about you not getting those Xeon chips... Vinnie here tells me you talked about using an AMD processor." Apple being only a minor customer makes it even more so. This is not opinion, this is fact - google for it. (And Intel admits doing these things, and says they don't see anything wrong with it.)

    Virtual PC 6 ran Windows pretty well (and also ran many Linux distros, and OS/2). It was no good for games, but it ran productivity apps perfectly. There are low-power versions of the PowerPC out there that Apple could use if they wanted to, but it makes little sense.

    Nah, we're stuck with Intel for the foreseeable future.
     
  17. LoganT macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #17
    Wasn't there a rumor a few months ago that the AMD guys were seen at Apple Headquarters?
     
  18. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #18
    Yes but there have been rumors about AMD for years. Besides, AMD bought ATI so they also make GPUs that we can find from Macs so it's not a surprise that AMD guys were at Apple's.
     
  19. lewdvig macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2002
    Location:
    South Pole
    #19
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    For how most of us use a computer intel was/is the best choice (I am lumping amd in with them).

    10.7 and a new MBA are quite enough. Everything else in the lineup seems pretty much up to date.

    Maybe new radeons for Mac pro fans as their new line of gpus launches next week too.
     

Share This Page