Back to my Mac (Airport Extreme)

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by michelg1970, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. michelg1970 macrumors regular

    michelg1970

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Gouda - The Netherlands
    #1
    Hi!

    Tried to call Apple Support but got disconnected three times (they have system issues) so I gave up. Those good old times that Apple just was fail-free....

    Anyway, since I gave up stalking Apple, I post my question here.

    I want to enable Back To My Mac on my Airport Extreme. It works on my MBP and Mac Mini. When I enter my Apple ID and password on my Airport Extreme (Airport Utility) it gives an error however: An Error Occurred.

    Tried my wife's Apple ID and it just works. Tried mine again: error.

    Can anyone advise how to solve this? I already power-cycled the AE and even configured the AE from scratch - to no avail.

    Thanks!
    Michel
     
  2. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #2
    I believe it only works with the iCloud account used to set it up in the Extreme.
     
  3. michelg1970 thread starter macrumors regular

    michelg1970

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Location:
    Gouda - The Netherlands
    #3
    That's the whole problem:

    In the Airport Utility when I set it up with my account it gives the error message.... So I cannot set it (the airport extreme) up with my account...
     
  4. randomdude macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Different Back to my Mac question

    Hi, I was just wondering if there was a limit on file transfer size as I can never transfer more than 100MB at a time. If I even attempt to, it copies about half way (depending on file size) and then disconnects completely, making me have to connect again.
    Then there's also the face that it transfers files slowly, e.g. 100MB will take well over 20 minutes.

    Any help or answers are appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  5. thistlepatch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #5
    You need to use the Apple ID to setup an iCloud account on an iOS device (or maybe a computer, too).
     

Share This Page