Back to My Mac issues

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by cornopaez, Sep 15, 2009.

  1. cornopaez macrumors regular

    cornopaez

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    in a practice room or a MacBook.
    #1
    Hey-

    I'm having some issues with Back to my Mac and the issue seems to be somewhere in the router I have (Airport extreme n-tech Gigabit) but I can't seem to figure it out. I keep getting this error message in the "back to my mac" tab in System Preferences, under MobileMe, that states that NAT-PMP is not supported by the router and that I need to contact the manufacturer to see if there's a way to turn it on. Since the router is Apple's and it's supposed to "just work", I can't seem to find the reason for this error message (Something that the people on the MobileMe support chat agree on, at least)

    I've tried changing the settings between the DSL modem and the airport so that the NAT-PMP is done on the router instead of the modem, but there was no difference; the error still showed up. Tried also restoring factory settings but no difference.

    Any other ideas out there?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #2
    I was running Leopard on my new MBP and my MacPro and ws able to do it fine, then ran into this after upgrading my MBP to Snow Leopard while I was at work. I was able to use BTTM again after upgrading the MacPro at home to Snow Leopard as well. Bizarre that it actually had nothing to do with a non-PNP router, as I was on an AEBS as well, and working fine before the upgrade. Anyhow, getting both on the same OS again fixed it. Has it ever worked for you? You may have the Airport Extreme at home, but may be connecting through a non-uPNP router where ever else you're at.
     
  3. southerndoc macrumors 65816

    southerndoc

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Location:
    USA
  4. cornopaez thread starter macrumors regular

    cornopaez

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    in a practice room or a MacBook.
    #4
    For me, while I had Leopard, it never worked it always dropped the connection. With Snow Leopard it worked just fine until the router became sluggish and I hat to reboot it. After that it stopped working and now it drops the connection just like Leopard did in the past. The routers at the place I spend most of the time usually don't interfere with protocols but maybe this time is the charm. I can see the resources in BTMM but I can't connect to them.
    :(
     
  5. Sonicjay macrumors 6502a

    Sonicjay

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #5
    Try this; it has helped me occasionally with other BTTM issues. On at least one of the Macs, go into System Preferences, go to MobileMe, sign out and back in, then try it. If that doesn't do it, try the same thing with the other Mac. For some reason this fixes some connection problems, though not sure if it will in this case. It's worth a shot
     
  6. cornopaez thread starter macrumors regular

    cornopaez

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Location:
    in a practice room or a MacBook.
    #6
    Yeah!!!!! Finally!

    After it stopped saying that there was an issue with the NAT-PMP I logged off and then on, and it now works.

    Thanks!

    MP
     

Share This Page