Back to PC?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by iSlave, Aug 6, 2008.

1. iSlave macrumors 6502

:eek:

I've been a mac user for the past 3 years, and have owned mainly iMacs during that time. With the release of the aluminium iMac, my devotion to Jobs' finest creations is becoming a little shaky - for the sole reason that I hate the glossy screen.

Now, I produce a small amount of video in FCP, and I do work in After Effects and Photoshop. I'm not a professional by any means, but I find the excessive glare really annoying.

I don't need portability and screen size is important so spending £1300 on a MacBook Pro is a bit much...and I lose out on screen size unless I also buy an external monitor. I can pretty much forget about the mac pro too.

I guess what I'm saying is Apple no longer makes a desktop computer in my budget which gives me what I'm looking for.

Anyone else in this situation? I'm actually considering going back to PC (which seems unheard of), but when Apple limit your choice...what choice do you have?

2. 63dot macrumors 603

63dot

I do hear you since Apple is a small company and doesn't offer the same variety as HP or Dell.

But if you do switch to PC, I would at least wait until Windows Vista gets a few more service packs. And many Mac owners, or the occasional switcher to PC go to a Sony PC more times than not.

With the relatively sturdy Windows XP, and some steady industrial design improvements in many PC companies, I was starting to consider a PC, too for the first time in nearly a decade. Then it all fell to pieces with the awful initial release of Vista. Windows 95 was the last time Microsoft had such a tremendously shaky operating system initially offered to the public.

3. tmelvin macrumors 6502

tmelvin

Hmmm..well...if you want to do it, the go ahead. If you don't want the iMac, then why not a low end Macbook with an external monitor. Or a Mac Mini.