Back up help - no idea!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by leccy, May 6, 2014.

1. leccy macrumors newbie

Hi all,

I'm after some advice on backing up my macbook air, I know I should do it but I'm not sure how!

Ideally I'd like something that can be setup to automatically back up absolutely everything regularly without deleting things from the back up that have since been removed from my laptop. My laptop is getting very full now so I'd like to basically dump the contents on the back up so they're still accessible and keep only the most recent work/pics etc on the actual laptop.

I work as a journalist so needs to be accessible wirelessly, sometimes I'm at home, sometimes in the office, pub/meeting etc! I'd like to be able to access this at all times if this is even possible?

The apple shop advised me to go time machine/time capsule route (as they would!) but I've heard these are unreliable and expensive (per gb)

Spec:
    MacBook Air running Mavericks OS X 10.9.2
    At home I have BT Infinity fibre optic broadband with a BT Homehub 5

I've lots of family photos etc I want to keep but obviously they're filling up my machine and making it hard to work!

Any advice welcome please!

2. snberk103 macrumors 603

First things first. This is a very simple explanation - and there is more to it … but perhaps it will help.

There is a difference between a 'Back up' and an 'Archive'. They do two different things, and you achieve them in different ways, often.