back up iPhone question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by raggdoll, Oct 12, 2014.

  1. raggdoll macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto GTA
    #1
    Hello all, bought a 6+ and been thinking about keeping my 5 as a spare/backup phone. If I were to loose the 6, how would I be able to start using the 5 again, as the sim card would be missing too?
     
  2. TruckdriverSean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #2
    Yes, you'd need a replacement sim from your carrier.
     
  3. raggdoll thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto GTA
    #3
    Thanks, could I get one beforehand, just to have it? Or don't they do that?
     
  4. sillywabbit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #4
    back up iPhone question


    The 6 plus came with a SIM card. Just swap it with the iphone 5.

    Problem solved, you have a SIM card for each phone
     
  5. raggdoll thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto GTA
    #5
    No, my 6+ didn't come with a sim card, I bought it outright.
     
  6. sillywabbit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    #6

    That is strange cuz every phone comes with a SIM card.

    I paid full price for 2 iphone 6 plus and they both came with SIM cards.


    You must be in another country. Non-united states

    ----------

    Just go to your carrier and ask for a SIM card.

    Or buy a used one from local classifieds.

    Or Amazon in your country
     
  7. raggdoll thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto GTA
    #7
    Im in Canada. So essentially, I "could" have 2 working phones with the same number?
     
  8. sillywabbit macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
  9. raggdoll thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto GTA
    #9
    But if I went in to my carrier and asked them for a sim, why couldn't I ?
     
  10. ttmrn macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Location:
    tx
    #10
    are u asking for 2 sim cards for the same number to be used at the same time?

    as soon as you ask for one, the previous sim card will be deactivated. At any one time, only one sim card will be functional for that number.


    --
    if u want to use 2 sim card with the same number, check your carrier for services such as a multi-sim, etc.
     
  11. raggdoll thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto GTA
    #11
    Ah, I see. Figured it couldn't be that easy :D
     
  12. TruckdriverSean macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #12
    You might talk to your carrier about having another sim that could be activated to work on your phone number with a website visit or phone call.

    Not sure if that is technically feasible or not, but in theory, your carrier would know.
     

Share This Page