Background Photo Keeps Changing

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by iubhounds, Jan 21, 2015.

  1. iubhounds macrumors regular

    iubhounds

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #1
    Every since I installed Yosemite my background desktop photos change. I do not have the block checked to change them every 30 minutes, nor do they change every 30 minutes.

    They only change each time I boot up my iMac, which is every morning.

    I have an iMac mid 2010 model. I have a 27" Apple monitor attached to the iMac, using it as my main monitor. I have not moved nor changed any photo files.

    Everyday that I turn on my iMac the photos have changed from what i left them. It is a photo that was used maybe 6-7 months ago. Sometimes this photo will show up as only the iMac background, other times it will show up as backgrounds on both monitors. Then some days my iMac background will stay the same as it should. The 2nd monitor changes back to this one older photo every day.

    I have looked throughout this forum, under the Yosemite and iMac sections for an answer but haven't found anyone else with the same problem.

    Any ideas about what is taking place and a possible solution?
     
  2. thebro20 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
  3. Natzoo macrumors 65816

    Natzoo

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Location:
    Not sure where i am
    #4
    Not on mine. What year is yours? mine is late 2013 15"
     
  4. afsnyder macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    #5
    Perhaps try moving the photo to another location. I haven't run into this issue but I have my wallpapers in a folder in Documents.
     
  5. TETENAL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    #6
    I did set my background image from iPhoto, and have exactly the same problem.
     
  6. thebro20 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    #7
    mine is late 2013 13"

    the issue doesn't occur all the time, but it does happen
     
  7. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #8
    Make sure the image location is not changing.

    This is generally what causes the issue. (eg if the image is on an external drive or something).

    I would probably recommend making a copy of the wallpaper in your user pictures folder then reselecting that copy as your wallpaper.

    The alternate possibility is that your desktop background database file is corrupt or not saving properly:

    Code:
    /Users/$USER/Library/Application Support/Dock/desktoppicture.db
     
  8. iubhounds thread starter macrumors regular

    iubhounds

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #9
    These photos are in iPhoto. As a trial I moved one of the to my desktop. It still changes. Different startups bring different results. Like this morning after turning on the computer, the image in my 27" display listed as my main monitor ... shows up on the iMac monitor. The photo on the 27" was the image from 6 months ago.

    Yesterday the iMac display kept the same background that I set it for.

    Ill try moving some photos to a folder in my documents and pull from that.
     
  9. iubhounds thread starter macrumors regular

    iubhounds

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #10
    That's my problem right there. I don't have that database file. The disappearance may have happened after I downloaded cDock a few months back. Then last week when I thought cDock might be the problem I uninstalled it.

    How do rebuild that database?
     
  10. w0lf macrumors 65816

    w0lf

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    USA
    #11
    If it doesn't exist then your dock app is most likely not able to create it in the first place. Highly likely it's a permission issue. Is your drive like partially split onto an external or multiple drives or something?

    Restarting the Dock app will re-create the database if it does not exist.
     
  11. iubhounds thread starter macrumors regular

    iubhounds

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    #12
    I have two external drives attached, one for the time machine backup and the other to drop files to manually. I also have an external disc reader for cd/dvd.
     

Share This Page