Background Processes

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ViViDboarder, Dec 8, 2008.

  1. ViViDboarder macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Ok. So there are a few hogs that I'm not sure what to do about.

    MxT2d: It belongs to MxTube and is uses anywhere up to 2M of my ram at a given moment. I like MxTube, but I don't know what bussiness it has running in my background. I think I may get rid of it because of this.

    PdaNet: Does this always run in the background? I don't see why it's necessary. It's using almost 1M of my ram when not even in use.

    Anyone else got any ideas on keeping their mem free or any idea on these two processes?
     
  2. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #2
    Umm... Not sure if this will help, but I'll say it anyway. You might already know this, btw.

    Open up the app (whichever one, I think you said MxTube?) and push and hold the power button until the app closes. Hope this helps :D
     
  3. myk13 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    #3
    power button no. Home button yes.
     
  4. Tokiopop macrumors 68000

    Tokiopop

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    #4
    Aha! That's what I meant. Silly me :rolleyes:
     
  5. ying yang macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #5
    How do you know the amount of RAM? Is there an Activity Monitor that I haven't heard of or something?
     
  6. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #6
  7. ViViDboarder thread starter macrumors 68040

    ViViDboarder

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    Well, it's no the MxTube process. They have their own background process too. That's what confuses me about it. Why is that necessary? After viewing top and gettin the pid I killed it and it exited and then reopened again.
     

Share This Page