Backing up a Developer Preview?

Discussion in 'OS X Mavericks (10.9)' started by petrucci666, Aug 22, 2013.

  1. petrucci666 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #1
    I haven't done a Time Machine backup ever since I installed DP1 some months ago now. I have collected some quite valuable files since then but luckily haven't had any data loss issues. I'd like to make a Time Machine backup but don't know whether it's advised since we're still in Beta testing.

    If I backup DP6 now, will I have problems later? Compatibility issues perhaps?


    Thank you!
     
  2. mrapplegate macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #2
    There is no harm in using time machine or CCC on the DP.
    I use both without issues.
    You won't have problems as long as you move forward and not try to use a DP backup with 10.8.
     
  3. petrucci666 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    I appreciate the help, thanks!
     
  4. thomaskc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #4
    How well does the time machine compress your files?

    I have a stable 10.8.5 build installed and I think/kind of know I will need it for work later too. How ever if I was to run a time machine backup on it all (I assume I need a fairly big external disc) and then install Mavericks.. It should just be strait forward to roll back should I need to correct?

    (p.s. I have 30 years of PC/microsoft knowledge and use and like 1 year of the apple way of doing things, so ive got no clue).

    Thanks! :D
     
  5. Tander macrumors 6502a

    Tander

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    #5
    Time machine will not backup the OS it self, so no. You would need to reinstall 10.8.5 and restore a TM backup to that install.
     
  6. thomaskc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    #6
    Oh... well thats good to know.. makes things way less convenient :p thanks
     
  7. Judith123 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Location:
    New York
    #7
    Go ahead! If you want to backup with Time Machine, you'd better get an external hard drive to backup. That would be easier. :)
     
  8. JohnDoe98 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    May 1, 2009
    #8
    What are you talking about, and does your claim only apply to DPs? Because as far as I know from experience on retail versions of OS X, Time Machine does backup the OS. The backup isn't a 100% copy of everything on the drive, but you can restore your computer from a Time Machine backup and all you loose in the process is your recovery partition, which can be recreated by either re-installing the OS on top of the restored TM backup, or by other more complicated procedures. So, are you claiming you cannot restore from a DP backup?

    Also, it would be nice if Apple finally fixed the way TM backups/restores work so that it includes the recovery partition during a restore, that way everything is back in order without further tweaks needed. I've emailed Apple about this, and so should everyone reading this!

    ----------

    I'm not sure what that poster is claiming. So far as I know you can restore your computer from a TM backup, with minor loses that are resolvable rather easily.
     

Share This Page