backing up apps

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by homrb, Aug 17, 2010.

  1. homrb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #1
    Is there something to install that backs up information on my app store apps (ex: what level Im on in Angry Birds) separate from the itunes backup so if I want to restore my phone as a new phone then my app information can be restored? (and also text messages, but thats not as important)
     
  2. homrb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
  3. dZp macrumors 6502a

    dZp

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    #5
    Well, it may not have been updated in a long time but it still does the job fine. The OP wants a backup of his app store apps' settings. Chronus does that. As far as I know, that's not what PkgBackup is for.
     
  4. homrb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #6
    Is there also a way (with JB or not) to backup text messages to a program and so if I want to restore as new then I can restore my text messages?
     
  5. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    Yeah.....i forgot the name...right now..... something like iTones...or iTumes .... wait ....

    Oh yeah... iTunes....:D:D:D


    LOL, if you want to avoid itunes just back up the sms.db on var/Mobile/Library/SMS
     
  6. homrb thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #8
    the question was...if you had read the thread... is that If I had set it up as a NEW phone then could I get my texts back, which you cant through iTunes because then you would be backing up the entire old backup, which was not the thing I wanted to do. :)
     
  7. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #9
    IT was ..wait a minute.....what is it call??,,,,a JOKE!!!


    ..if you had read my post.... I told you how to backup the database manually so you can restore later,,,
     

Share This Page