Backing Up dvds...

taco2004

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 9, 2006
US
I am new to mac's and need a program to backup some of my dvds. When i had my PC i used DvdXCopy. Are there any programs like it for macs? That program made backing up dvds easy. All you had to do is stick in the dvd, hit copy, then take the movie out once it is through copying it and then stick in a black dvd.

Electro Funk

macrumors 65816
Dec 8, 2005
The Opium Garden
taco2004 said:
I am new to mac's and need a program to backup some of my dvds. When i had my PC i used DvdXCopy. Are there any programs like it for macs? That program made backing up dvds easy. All you had to do is stick in the dvd, hit copy, then take the movie out once it is through copying it and then stick in a black dvd.
DVD xcoppy is now illegal in the us.... (and obviously only works on pc's)

i am assuming you are making backups of dvds you have purchased and not rented right???

this may help.... and it is free...

http://mac.softpedia.com/progDownload/DVDBackup-Download-5085.html

sushi

Moderator emeritus
Jul 19, 2002
キャンプスワ&#
taco2004 said:
Assuming you are making backup copies of legally owned DVDs:

- MacTheRipper to rip to your HD

- DVD2OneX to reduce the size to fit on a regular DVD

- Toast to burn the DVD

Or, if you like you can skip DVD2OneX and use Toast to both reduce the size and burn the DVD.

I prefer using DVD2OneX verses Toast to reduce the size. BTW, DVD2One is the PC version of the DVD2OneX program.

taco2004

macrumors member
Original poster
Apr 9, 2006
US
Does DVD2OneX reduce the video quality?

sushi said:

- Toast to burn the DVD

Or, if you like you can skip DVD2OneX and use Toast to both reduce the size and burn the DVD.

I prefer using DVD2OneX verses Toast to reduce the size. BTW, DVD2One is the PC version of the DVD2OneX program.

sushi

Moderator emeritus
Jul 19, 2002
キャンプスワ&#
taco2004 said:
Does DVD2OneX reduce the video quality?