Backing up iPad to iTunes

Discussion in 'iPad' started by Peter Franks, Mar 10, 2019.

  1. Peter Franks macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #1
    Just a quick ask please. I've had the iPad for several years but never backed up because never really needed to, until now. I regularly back up my iPhone and it syncs OK for the most part but this is the first time I've plugged in the iPad and get this screen. Now I don't want to set it up as new iPad, or restore from a back-up. How can I just back it up as it is now.

    I'm worried either one of those options will overwrite what's on there, but that is the only option offered and when I press cancel. it just ejects the iPad. Don't even know why it's offering a back from an iPhone for the iPad? Any help appreciated please. Thanks

    [​IMG]
     
  2. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #2
    I know this screen looks scary, but iTunes is just recognizing it as “new” because it has never connected to that device before. Choosing “set up as new iPad” will move forward without erasing anything or restoring the device.
     
  3. mikzn macrumors 6502a

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #3
    I would make sure about that before I clicked the "Continue" - that is not normal

    Also restoring from a back up is not complete and may be missing a lot of data and info.

    have you tried re-boot of both Mac and iPad
     
  4. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #4
    I’m sorry, but you are incorrect. It is 100% normal for iTunes to present this screen when a device is connected that it has never interacted with before. It assumes the device is new, and offers to restore a backup of another device. If you choose “Set up as new iPad”, in no way will it affect the content or settings of the device. You’re just setting it up as “new” in iTunes, if that makes sense. It sounds scary, but you would have to actually move forward and choose the restore options for any data to be erased.
     
  5. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #5
    Thanks.

    Yes. Reboot makes no odds. It doesn’t offer any other way of back up. I’d be gutted if setting up as new wipes it. There’s stuff on there that can’t be replaced, hence the want for a back up.
     
  6. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #6
    Ah you posted this as I answered previous. OK so the apps etc all will remain. Thanks

    While I have you, is there any way whatsoever to pull an app from an iPad and get it on iPhone. It used to be available for iPhone but now been removed from App Store. Thanks again
     
  7. mikzn macrumors 6502a

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #7
    maybe blastro is right?

    but - I would not risk my data with out being sure

    I have 3 ipads (including a 12.9 iPad pro) and have never seen that screen - but I have always done an iTunes backup as soon as the new iPad was set up - mostly because I have many photos, emails(10Years of Outlook) and Keynote presentations that are important - not to mention music and other files.
     
  8. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #8
    If it starts asking for set up details when I click it then that would be a red flag. There are no other options to back it up. The reason I didn’t set up from new is because I was still on Snow Leopard when I bought iPad and iTunes wouldn’t work with anything.
     
  9. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #9
    No, you can no longer use iTunes to manage apps. I think there is a specialized older version still for download but not in the standard version.

    And I’d like to reiterate again that choosing “Set up as new” will not erase any apps, content, or settings on your iPad. I have done it dozens of times, and to confirm I just plugged my iPad Pro up to my work Mac, which I’ve not done in the 2 months since I got mine. I got the same screen shown here. All is well after choosing “Set up as new iPad”. I started and ended the writing of this comment while doing it, no data lost, no changes to the iPad whatsoever.
     
  10. Peter Franks, Mar 10, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2019

    Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #10
    So no way I can get an app from the iPad that I used to have on iPhone, and App store removed despite it being on the iPad? Shame.

    Doing the back up now, Thanks for all your help, much appreciated, and thanks for testing it out for me first!
    Does it back up everything? what was weird was it only took a few minutes after years of not being backed up, My iPhone when not backed up for a few months takes much longer?

    There's no way it's backed up all those apps so quick?

    EDIT: My 64GB iPhone shows 13GB back up in iOS storage, which also sounds light. I've used way more than that, but the iPad is only showing just over 1GB, I've got apps bigger than that, so why is it not backing it all up?
     
  11. blasto2236 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    #11
    Because it’s not actually backing up the apps, just the app data. The apps are redownloaded from the App Store when you restore from a backup.

    iPad backups in my experience tend to use less space simply because less content is stored on them. You’re not taking as many photos, storing as many contacts, etc. Every person and device is different though.

    Anyway, glad you were able to move forward!
     
  12. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #12
    Oh, that's annoying, that sport app removed from the store won't be replaced then. I couldn't get it back on the phone because it wasn't in that list whereby you can put back ones you've deleted, so it would probably be irreplaceable on iPad too then if lost. Do any updates remove any apps that aren't in the store anymore? Thanks again for your help.
     
  13. mikzn macrumors 6502a

    mikzn

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #13
    even if you could move the app onto the iPhone - it may not run / work - since iOS 12

    there are ways to put the app back if you have it backed up from previous back ups in the itunes library - but it probably will not work on iOS 12 if it does not transfer with the migration or updates.
     
  14. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #14
    That’s a very good point actually. I’m not on the latest iOS. Is there a chance it could stop working on latest update of 12.1.4?

    No previous back ups no. As I said, it’s the first iPad back up I’ve ever done. Never bothered before as it wasn’t as important as the iPhone back up.
     
  15. charlituna macrumors G3

    charlituna

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #15
    'I have already done an iTunes backup' which is why you don't see that screen
     
  16. mofunk macrumors 68020

    mofunk

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Americas
    #16
    Man there is some incorrect answers here. lol I'm glad you got everything running.

    I have my iPad backed to my computer. I like that because if you have an app that's no longer in the Apps store you can still add them from the backup folder on your Mac or through iTunes on your computer. I think I saw someone say no you can't...thats not true. I have that Flappy Birds App which is not in my iCloud account but I can access it via my iTunes.

    The screen you saw when you connected will appear when you haven't connected the iOS device to your Mac. The last time I connected a new iPad it appeared. The new thing was it allows you to use the settings from your other iOS devices which is the same feature you can access when you have another iOS device near by.


    A few months ago I had my iPad replaced and although I did the transfer in the Apple store, from the previous iPad, I still tried to backup from my Mac. Usually when I get another iOS device I connect it to my Mac and I set up as NEW even if its the first time. Then go back in iTunes - Preferences - Devices and manage what you want to keep or delete.

    To access those old Apps on your Computer is tricky. Apple has moved the folder around, but its there.
     
  17. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #17
    You sure they’re there? When a new iPhone is set up and downloading apps or saving from a back up it takes forever. When I backed this iPad up for the first time it was minutes. There’s no way it could have backed up any apps. Maybe settings and data but not if it only says a 1GB back in iOS on the Mac, when some apps alone are well over 1GB. Makes little sense. I remember seeing a whole load of apps in iTunes years ago but not sure where they’d be now.
     
  18. mofunk macrumors 68020

    mofunk

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Location:
    Americas
    #18
    I've been backing my iPhone/ipod/ipads to my computer, gosh, for years. I was doing this way back with .Mac and its become a habit. I went to look for two games that I got when I used my iPod touch a lot. It was Flappy Birds and Shrek Kart. Both games weren't in my iCloud at the time because it they weren't on my iPhone. When I check my MB I found them there and dragged them to iTunes, loaded them on my iOS and now they are on my iCloud since on the devices I backed to my Mac and iCloud.

    Some of the Apps I can load but they won't play. I'm guessing that the iOS 12 or 11 bricked them. When you go on your MB, you have to find the folder where they are kept. Then right click to get the shortcut window. From there you select reveal contents. ...I really think it depends on which version and if you backed up your Apps to an external drive.
     
  19. Peter Franks thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Location:
    London UK
    #19
    Thanks, the total iPad back up is 1.9GB. One app I have is almost as large as that, so it'd be strange if it was like that.

    The iPhone back up alongside it is over 13GB, also pretty much as confusing, as the phone says it has 19GB available on a 64GB phone so why not a 45GB back up. I get a lot is not backed up and is standard software, but the iPad one is probably missing something I don't know about. All back up for my iOS are in iTunes. The Mac is external back up.
     

Share This Page