Backing up iPhone

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Vegastouch, Jun 28, 2009.

  1. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #1
    Since i have installed and jailbroken 3.0 on my 2G, everything is working fine except when i plug my phone into iTunes, it wont back it up. It shows the message " iTunes could not backup this phone because the phone was disconnected".

    I never disconnected the phone so does anybody else get this message? And what can i do so when i sync the updated music, contacts, etc will get backed up?

    Is there a solution to this?
     
  2. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3

    Probably not. Have you tried Googleing the problem for some other sources ?
     
  4. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #4
    I did after i saw this and apparently it has something to do with the mobileInstallation being the culprit. I need to download a patched version for 3.0 but i have a PC and dont know how to SSH into it.

    I really dont know the exact steps to fix this but from what ive been reading, that is the problem. I have never had a backup problem on any firmware upgrade til now.
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    It shouldnt do this.
    You might have to restore and then redo the jailbreak again.
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #6
    SSH Tutorial http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=3221


     
  7. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #7
    No, been reading that when they do that it dont fix it. Besides, i did do another restore and jailbreak when my photos wouldnt save or backup and still no backup happening. Now i need to find what i have to have to fix that mobileinstallation thing. Been seing a permissions setting but that was talk of 2.1, dont know what it should be for 3.0.

    I did SSH into my phone(thanks for the link) but dont know where i need to go yet so i closed it. Need more research/direction.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  9. Chavi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    #9
    Any luck on this? Having same issue

    Yo I have a 3G running 3.0, hacked with Redsnow and Ultrasnow and Im having the same error. It won't let me backup either... Have you been able to figure it out?
     
  10. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #10
    Not yet. I have seen on other forums that it could very well be the mobileinstalation permissions but i dont know what it is supposed to be for 3.0. There is a patch in cydia for 3.0 called installd patch and tried it but it didnt fix it for me and not sure that is supposed to fix this particular problem anyways.
     
  11. arvinddino macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    #11
    same problem

    Hey folks am stuck with the same problem.. i had this after i did a complete restore and rejailbreak.. i havent been able to backup since then... i have tried SSH and read up posts on all forums.. nobody seems to have a solution for this.. i have lost all my backups and i really dont want to do another restore :(

    I am beginning to doubt that its got to do with a identification between the mac and the iphone.. the backup utility is the one that fails everytime (console log)..
     
  12. Vegastouch thread starter macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #12
    So anybody who had this problem with 3.0 can you tell us if it was fixed updating to 3.0.1?
     

Share This Page