Backing up my external Backup

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by pilotkid, Jul 5, 2009.

  1. pilotkid macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #1
    Hey everyone. I have a 1TB My Studio external HD and I have it partitioned, 600GB for Time Machine and 400GB for my iTunes(I keep 100% of my iTunes library on this partition). Is there a way to backup this entire hard drive with another hard drive that I have laying around? I want some redundancy and especially since I have thousands of dollars work of iTunes stuff all in one place and nowhere else. Also, I wouldn't care or want to have it backed up like Time Machine(constantly updating) but it would be nice if once a month I could just do one back up, that way if I ever had a problem and lost a hard drive I would only be out a months worth of stuff.
    Thanks for your help and have a great night!
     
  2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #2
    I use iBackUp to back-up my non-Time Machine back-up drive. Carbon Copy Cloner seems capable of doing this though.
     
  3. pilotkid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #3
    Will that work for backing up your Time Machine back up drive as well?
     
  4. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #4
    I'm confused - the thread title is "Backing up my external Backup," implying that you do have another copy on your computer's HD. Is that not the case?

    Generally, unless you're using enterprise-level stuff, one "main" copy and one "backup" copy is sufficient. Your likelihood of losing both drives at the same time is miniscule.
     
  5. -tWv- macrumors 68000

    -tWv-

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Location:
    Ohio
    #5
    You could probably just make a disk image with disk utility of the partition that has all your itunes stuff on it, then just restore the disk image to a new disk if that one ever fails, then just once a month overwrite the old disk image with the new one that you make. You can also encrypt disk images made with disk if you want to keep that data secure.
     
  6. pilotkid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #6
    Sorry, I got myself confused!LOL. Ok, so I have my iMac, it is backed up to a 1TB My Book Studio External HD. I want to back up my 1TB My Book Studio onto another external hard drive.
     
  7. Tumbleweed666 macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Location:
    Near London, UK.
    #7
    I think he meant by 'one place', its all in his house. Carbon copy cloner would let you duplicate to another disk which you could keep away from the house.
     
  8. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #8
    User has...

    iMac HD -> backed up to TM on external HD
    External HD -> with TM back up AND all of iTunes (not on iMac at all)

    Wants to...

    Back up external drive to have an extra backup AND a backup of iTunes

    I think you could probably use Carbon Copy Cloner for this and it is free

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  9. pilotkid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #9
    Yes, this is right. Thank you!!!!!! Carbon Copy Cloner it is!
     
  10. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #10
    Why do this at all?

    If you have the MyBook as a backup to your iMac, then the iMac is the backup to your MyBook.
     
  11. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #11
    The point is... the iTunes is NOT backed up, it is only on the external and not the iMac

    See my post above

    Woof, Woof - Dawg [​IMG]
     
  12. Tomorrow macrumors 604

    Tomorrow

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Location:
    Always a day away
    #12
    ...and no iPod, I presume?
     
  13. BayouBengal macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    #13
    A Drobo is good for those that really want some hardcore backupedness.
     
  14. Mugwumper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    #14
    My $0.02 . . .

    Here's my config:

    - 1.5TB external FW800 HD that contains my TimeMachine backups (this drive
    has a 2nd 500GB partition with music and photos)
    - 750GB external USB2 HD that contains a "clone" of my 500GB internal HD
    (I use Synchronize Pro X, and have used Carbon Copy Cloner and SuperDuper
    in the past)

    I do TM updates a few times a day or every few days, depending on what
    I'm working on, and at least a weekly clone.

    FWIW, YMMV, etc. ;^)

    Mugwumper
     
  15. pilotkid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #15
    No I have a iPod Touch 2nd Generation. The problem is, is that yes, all my songs and two or three movies would be on there but what about the other 145gbs.:eek:LOL
     
  16. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #16
    Carbon Copy Cloner def. will do this. I just checked.
     
  17. pilotkid thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ/Chicago, IL
    #17
    That sounds like what I'm wanting to do. Except I dont really need a clone of my iMacs internal HD because thats what Time Machine is for, I just want to back up the external HD that Time Machine Saves everything to. Someone mentioned something about a disk image of my iTunes library and putting it on another separate external HD. Does that sound like it would work and work well. I dont need it to be updated everyday, or even every week. Maybe like once a month.
     
  18. Mugwumper macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Location:
    Palmdale, CA
    #18
    Maybe not . . . ;^)

    The reason I do a clone is that if/when your internal hard drive fails, you'll
    have a *bootable* copy on an external drive that can get you back up and
    running in the minimum amount of time. Yes, it may be a little out of synch
    with the internal HD, but *that's* what TimeMachine is for. (IMO)

    In other words, get back running with the clone, copy it to your new internal
    HD, then use TM to bring the copy up to whenever your last TM backup was.

    My only experience in this happened about a year ago on a G5 iMac, and I
    had a similar setup (2 external 250GB HDs). When the internal drive failed,
    I had the Apple guys replace the drive (it was still under AppleCare), then I
    came home and booted from the external clone and copied it back to the
    new clean drive, and was back to where I left off in about 2 hours.

    And another experience I had was updating the G5 to my current C2D iMac.
    Using TM as the source for my files did *not* work well - it did not find the
    current backed up versions of many apps, and never did find my iTunes
    library (9000+ songs/audiobooks/podcasts). Thank goodness those were
    on my bootable copy HD - after reinstalling the apps, I merely copied the
    library files, and was up and running in minutes.

    Hope this helps . . .
     

Share This Page