backing up questions...

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by elf69, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. elf69 macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #1
    I try keep it as uncomplicated as I can.

    Going add 2nd HDD to my macbook.
    Time machine with one drive easy, what about with two?

    I have been looking a time capsules.
    Can I use one to backup more than one mac to?

    Thanks guys.
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    You can backup as many different machines as you want using Time Machine, on the same TM drive. They won't get confused, or overwrite each other, or anything like that.

    Are you going to run a different OS on your 2nd HDD? Or will you set up your own Fusion Drive? Not that it matters too much, as it'll work fine in either scenario. :)
     
  3. elf69 thread starter macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #3
    Im my macbook going to have one OS disc then have data on the other drive.

    Im filling up the 240GB SSD with apps/data/etc

    I dont yet know how to move my home folder but I'm sure you guys can help when time comes.

    I wish also to add 2nd HDD to my imac and back BOTH up to a time capsule on my network.

    Can time machine backup BOTH HDDs from each machine?
    Also without getting confused?
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors 604

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Yep! No confusion at all. On the same drive. :)
     
  5. elf69 thread starter macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #5
    Is it easy get time machine to back BOTH HDDs in the machine.

    not fitted other drive yet.
     
  6. elf69 thread starter macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #6
    Is a time capsule better than say any other NAS box?
     
  7. mic j macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #7
    I think the only advantage to a TC is it's design profile. If it is located in a very visible area, like a desk or with a TV, etc, it looks nicer than an AEBS with a few HDD's hanging off of it (along with all the USB cables, power bricks and cords). If you don't mind a little more clutter, I think the AEBS w usb-HDD is a very good option. At least, if either the router or HDD dies, you only have to repurchase half the system.
     
  8. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #8
    No, because most of NAS units off redundancy (various levels of RAID), and more robust software to configuring and using the product. TC is good if you want to stay on Apple, and don't do much else other then using it to backup.
     
  9. elf69 thread starter macrumors 65816

    elf69

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Location:
    Cornwall UK
    #9
    All I want is a backup unit, wifi not required as have router.

    Just easier for me than usb drives.
    Dont care for raid as raid breaks.

    A JBOD caddy would be fine.

    might look at nas caddies then.
     

Share This Page