Backing up Tiger?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by OrangeSVTguy, Oct 22, 2007.

  1. OrangeSVTguy macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #1
    i'm to new mac(well really my last mac was in 96 lol) but i bought a HDD with legit tiger preinstalled. is there a way to put that on a disk so in case i need to restore my mac? it's 10.4.1. is there a 3rd party utility to do this or is there something in the OS itself to do this? any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks.

    ps i do find myself playing more on my mac then on my XP laptop :D
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    SuperDuper is the way to go if you have an external HD to which you can back up.

    http://www.shirt-pocket.com/SuperDuper/

    Although... how do you get a "HDD with legit tiger preinstalled"? What kind of mumbo jumbo is that?

    BTW, SVTguy, are you a Fordie? I worked chassis engineering for my first job out of college. :)
     
  3. OrangeSVTguy thread starter macrumors 601

    OrangeSVTguy

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    Northeastern Ohio
    #3
    thanks for the reply. and yes i am a fordie :D my orange svt is a 2004 svt focus. i bought the HDD with a fresh copy of the OS already installed. i was just wondering if there was a utility to back it up to a cd or dvd like i did on my vaio laptop which i had to as they come preloaded without any restore disks, you have to burn your own.
     
  4. fredd500 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #4
    Do you mean you brought a new mac with Tiger pre-installed? Or just a Hard Disk in which case you have probably bought an illegal copy of the software and if you paid a premium for it, youve been ripped off.

    If you mean a new Mac, you should have had the resore disks with it - I bought a new Mac Pro a couple of months ago and the disks were in the top of the box.
     

Share This Page