Backing up Time capsule itself

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by davricho, Apr 1, 2008.

  1. davricho macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Location:
    Australia
    #1
    Does anyone know of a way to incrementally back up the time capsule drive. In my case I have a 1TB Time capsule and a 1TB external drive. My itunes library is on my TC and I want to back it up once per week (preferably not dragging and dropping 700Gb of data every time). Someone had suggested SuperDuper to me, but it doesn't appear to recognise TC as a source or destination drive.
     
  2. bacaramac macrumors 65816

    bacaramac

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #2
    I have the same setup. I have all movies, itunes, iPhoto, etc on the TC (wanted a good fast drive for media on NAS). I then have a 1TB external drive with my back-ups on it. I am currently using the Backup version 3 (software that you can get with .Mac) and it works perfect. I am not sure if you can get this without .Mac account.

    I have another question related to Back-up of TC itself since I use it as the main drive. Is there a way for Time Machine to see the TC drive? It only finds my local HD data (17GB or so). I have obviously have more then that with all my movies. Thanks.
     
  3. brokoli macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #3
    I would love to hear an easy solution to backup my media files on TC as well..
    just a reverse archive function that will copy TC to a connected hard drive..
     
  4. brokoli macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    #4
    oh wait, you can actually archive your time capsule to a usb disc connected to TC..
    go to disks under airport utility and click on TC disk, there you will see an archive option.
     
  5. xchaotic macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #5
    Sorry to dig up such an old thread, but right now I am also looking for a backup of a backup.

    I am now thinking that conceptually it is better to back up the data straight from Mac to a different solution using sth like CrashPlan or a similar solution rather than backing up Time Machine/Capsule.

    The advantage is that if the data on the Time Capsule is corrupt the backup of it will be corrupt as well.

    The only downside seems to be the hassle, but I think I'll set it to run periodically and that's it.
     

Share This Page