backplane change in MacPro 4.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by daavYo, Jul 11, 2017.

  1. daavYo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    #1
    Hi all
    since my 4.1 wont start
    - no chime, tried the graphic card, the system, the ram no go -
    i bought a backplane board (200$ with shipping outch) & i want to replace mine

    any advice, help, videos ?
    i found on youtube a 1.1 mother board change but since it's different ...

    thanx
     
  2. carpsafari, Jul 11, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2017

    carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
  3. daavYo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
  4. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    #4
    Nice. That is an updated service manual that I didn't have. I just followed an old one to swap a board and found two issues with the instructions. I see the first simple one is fixed which was that they now show 10 screws holding the backplane when they used to show 9. Second they added a note to the first steps that was missing - "Disconnect power supply cable from backplane board. Refer to Power Supply in Take Apart."
     
  5. daavYo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    #5
    Well ...
    i changed the backplane - gratitude for
    carpsafari

    it was long but so easy with the service manuel
    but ... when everything was assembled back & connected
    no power !! meaning no effect on the power button - no light, nothing
    i have a spare power supply, i changed it also
    nothing !!! (i tried the diagnosis button - the power light on board lit when pressed)
    grrrrrrr
    i took down everyting thinking i d forgotten something
    then i assembled back the old backplane board
    wishing for a miracle
    but same symptoms
    power button is back on, light above the button, fans ok but thats it
    no shime, or something else

    1-do you think the new backplane is faulty ?
    2- any suggestion ?
    :(
     
  6. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #6
    Your welcome, a pity it did not work.
    For $200 I expected a working backplane, with warranty or at least option to sent back.
    Unfortunately you see many vague adds.
    Does look like a non working backplane.

    As you say, the service manual is very clear and you did not run into a big problem (brittle connectors), so I believe its not your work that is at fault!
    Did you also use a fresh pram battery?
    But no power at all, does not look good.

    I would check the connectors again, to see if they are making contact...I received a MP 3.1 that booted just fine, but non of the HDD bays were seen,...I found that one of the connectors wasn't attached just right,..after that the problem was solved.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 14, 2017 ---
    Some thoughts;

    You are sure it is a 2009/4.1 backplane board?
    Your 4.1 wasn't flashed to 5.1 firmware yet?

    If you did flash your 4.1 to 5.1, its likely the 'new' backplane is still 4.1 and that also could be a reason why it isn't working.
     
  7. daavYo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    #7
    i changed the battery (only once though)
    i extra checked for the connectors - all of them

    i suspected the cable from front panel board and backplane board
    since this one give the power to the power button
    but no (effects discribe before)
    :(
     
  8. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #8
    Just added this;
    You are sure it is a 2009/4.1 backplane board?
    Your 4.1 wasn't flashed to 5.1 firmware yet?

    If you did flash your 4.1 to 5.1, its likely the 'new' backplane is still 4.1 and that also could be a reason why it isn't working.
     
  9. Auggie macrumors regular

    Auggie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #9
    I'm curious: what made you think it was a bad backplane board to begin with? Did you investigate the power supply? To me, that would have been my first troubleshooting step.

    It seems since with a replacement backplane board it still does not boot, I would suspect it's not the backplane board at all; neither the original nor the replacement.
     
  10. carpsafari, Jul 14, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017

    carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #10
    Well, obviously you did not read his posts, because after trying he did try another PSU as well!!
    --- Post Merged, Jul 14, 2017 ---
    See, for $149 they do sell boards with a 30 day return warranty.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-Use...ng-/282105170166?_trksid=p2349526.m2548.l4275

    I don't know where you are located.

    PS, it looks like this is a 'good' example of sellers not knowing themselves what they sell, because it looks like a 1.1/2.1/3.1 board! But they describe A1289...go figure.
     
  11. Auggie, Jul 14, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017

    Auggie macrumors regular

    Auggie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    #11
    Well obviously, you are simply assuming that the power supplies are fully functional. A simple "power status LED" does not mean the PSU is not faulty in another way to prevent system start. The same error in assumption was what confounded Apple when they couldn't figure out the power problems of my own 5,1 and they instead pursued backplane replacement, processor board replacement, video card replacement, and finally 2xCPU replacement. They gave up when none of that solved the problem. Had another shop look at it and after they replaced the PSU with a new one (not used, not refurbished), problem solved.

    But hey, each situation is unique.
     
  12. daavYo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    #12
    Auggie
    i tried everything
    graphic card, ram, processor tray(inspected, & processor lifted but not tried on another mac) ...
    then i read that could be the power supply
    i bought one (150€ ! a used one) but same symptoms

    the new mother moard is a 4.1 (ou 5 ?????)
    i didnt upgrade the firmware
    (i was thinking about upgrading the processor but i didnt)
    pffffffffff

    thanx for your help
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    I also doubt why you can conclude is the logic board failure.

    Even though you have extra PSU to test it and rule out PSU failure. This power on but no boot symptom can still be CPU tray failure.
     
  14. daavYo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    #14
    why PSU failure ?
    i thought so, so i changed it but same symptoms
    (light on the power button but no chime)
    could both PSU be not OK ?

    you re right concerning the CPU tray, but i couldnt find another mac
    to try out the CPU tray :-(
    & since everything looks ok there ...

    i guess that will be my next move
     
  15. carpsafari, Jul 14, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017

    carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #15
    Don't you know anybody close to you with a 4.1?
    Even a 5.1 would do, just to test the tray, although the fans will go crazy.

    I would have checked the tray prior to what you did now.

    PS, you can check the Northbridge module, if a rivet snapped, that would also be a reason why it won't boot.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors G3

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    Even though the chance is rare. Did you try to boot without graphic card? A GPU failure can cause the same symptom, but the computer will boot and run headless without graphic card installed.
     
  17. daavYo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    #17
    this is what i looked for, Carpsafari
    the north bridge look intact, doesnt move a bit
    both rivet are here

    i'm in paris, i can ask a mac reseller if he d let me try

    the graphic card is good mac one
    tried it on a 1.1,
    i got other pc graphic cards wich work on 1.1
    wich i tried on the 4.1, same thing

    i suspected the mother board since i left the mac sleeping (without turning off) few times for more than a week
    without touching it
    at some point the power button light would go blinking
    but when using it again no problemo
    --- Post Merged, Jul 14, 2017 ---
    do you think the backplan board i bought is faulty ?
    since i got only the diagnosis button showing a light
    the power button doesnt seem to react - no light when pressed
     
  18. carpsafari, Jul 14, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2017

    carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #18
    Well, this usually indicates bad ram.
    --- Post Merged, Jul 14, 2017 ---
    That's what I assumed, but I would check the Processor Tray first, before I go to find another backplane board.
    I would be surprised if a Reseller would even have an MP 4.1/5.1
     
  19. daavYo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    #19
    ram is quite recent
    & the blinking went only when the mac was asleep
    not during normal use
     
  20. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #20
    Ram; when you start the MP, all red leds on the Tray should blink for a second.
    Power blinking usually indicates ram, but without connection to CPU's it will also blink.
    The Northbridge you can exclude when the rivets are OK.
    And the tray itself can fail too.

    So you see there are several options for just a failing Processor Tray...and that is before you can conclude the Backplane is failing.
     
  21. daavYo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    #21
    sorry i was trying

    i think the ram is ok, no red light on the memory board
    i also tried some old ram sticks, with the same result
     
  22. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #22
    No problem man, I know its like looking for a needle in a haystack, but better to exclude the Tray before you change the backplaneboard.

    I'm talking about the red lights blinking for a second, is an indicator all is well! (also the cpu leds!)
    In your case you don't get to the point where you can check the ram, that is usually after the Boiing and as it doesn't make a sound....you still cannot exclude the ram either!

    But as the old ram also doesn't work, go to step 2 and test the tray!
     
  23. daavYo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
  24. Blakehoo, Jul 28, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2017

    Blakehoo macrumors member

    Blakehoo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
  25. daavYo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    #25
    sorry for the suspens
    i didnt find a macpro where i can try the processor tray
    & i was thinking about changing the processor - about 60€
     

Share This Page