Backup (Clone) Macintosh HD without Boot up files?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Chessin, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. Chessin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #1
    Im trying to clone all the MEDIA on my mac WITHOUT copying the boot up info. I dont want it to be an external boot up HD, I just want my files on it... Any method of doing this?

    Thanks
     
  2. pdjudd macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Location:
    Plymouth, MN
    #2
    If it's just media files, you can just copy the relevant directories to the external drive. That's the fastest method.
     
  3. Chessin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #3
    No I cant because I have too many directorys but I want to copy the WHOLE HD not just a few folders. Any easier way?
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    CarbonCopyCloner > Incremental backup - lets you select what and what not to clone.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. Darth.Titan macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #5
    Unless you have some terrible file storage habits, cloning your Home folder should be sufficient.
     
  6. Chessin thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    #6
    How do I properly format the external HD before cloning because right now it is having problems reading it
     

Share This Page