Backup for HD Replacement

Discussion in 'iMac' started by slabman, Mar 23, 2010.

  1. slabman macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Plano TX
    #1
    I need to replace/upgrade the HD on my iMac. Because I'm new at this, questions come to mind.

    1. What is the best way to back up my data/apps for easy installation on the new HD? Will Time Machine work for this?

    2. I've heard I can simply copy my applications and the data is contained within each file. If this is true, can I simply copy and paste onto the new drive? Or must I re-install using original program disks?

    Because I've never done this before, I'm concerned about forgetting to back up something and losing it...also about the need to re-source some programs, such as those bought directly online and have no physical disk.

    Thanks for your help....
     
  2. MT0227 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #2
  3. rpang macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Location:
    So Cal...
    #3
    I would use SuperDuper or CCC. It works a lot better as you will just clone your HD to the new one, install the new one, and you are set.
     
  4. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    Cloning OS isn't recommended. It may cause slowdowns and other issues.

    I would make a Time Machine backup and then migrate from that when you've installed the OS X
     
  5. slabman thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Location:
    Plano TX
    #5
    Thanks for the comments, guys. I'm going to clone, then install a new copy of SN on the new drive, but am concerned about migrating the "old" programs and settings to the new setup, i.e. I don't want to re-load any apps which may have issues, causing he machine to slow down for example. So...do I simply select the apps I want to re-load and the data for each app will transfer onto the new system? How do I re-install using original program disks and then import the old program data?
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    I've always migrated from Time Machine backup and never had any issues but I will always do a clean install, never upgrade or clone.

    You put in the install disk that came with your Mac or retail disk of OS X and hold option key while booting and select the install disk using arrow keys. Then you just follow the on screen instruction and that's it.

    At some point in the end it'll ask you if you want to transfer data from TM backup or from other Mac. You select the migrate from external HD option and plug in your HD where TM back up is. Then you select what you want to migrate (I selected everything) and let it do its magic.

    Zero slowdowns or other issues. If you drive into issues, you can do a clean install and then reinstall everything app by app.
     

Share This Page