Backup from Air to Pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hokinabru, Sep 13, 2013.

  1. hokinabru macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    #1
    Is it possible to use my Time Machine backup from my MAcbook Air and restore it on a new Macbook Pro Retina?

    I dont want to use Migration assistant because then I will have to re-download all my non-apple apps like the Adobe Suite.

    EDIT: Also, if I do a full clone, Will my Retina then think it is a Air?
     
  2. aiyaaabatt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    #2
    Migration assistant will clone all your programs as well. I just did this today in fact, from my macbook air to my retina.

    All installed programs (even non apple) were moved seamlessly from my Air to my Retina. I recommend using a thunderbolt cable, as it will go MUCH faster than wifi.

    See: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4889
     
  3. sonicrobby macrumors 68020

    sonicrobby

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Location:
    New Orleans
    #3
    Yes it is possible, I restored my mac mini onto my macbook pro with no issue. ALL my data was transferred over, programs and all.
     
  4. hokinabru thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    #4
    Thanks guys, I was reading on other forums and they stated otherwise. Now if the Retina refresh would happen already....
     
  5. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Restoring (versus Migration Assistant) or even cloning is not going to get around this issue. No matter what you do, the Adobe apps will see you are on different hardware than what was originally registered and you will need to reenter your Adobe products serial numbers.

    Adobe will see the UUID has changed and put the smack down on you. :(

    You can see the UUID for your machine in this screen in System Report.

    [​IMG]

    I would just use Migration Assistant.
     

Share This Page