Backup ideas? I need another HD for back up time to improve.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by lukester, Jun 7, 2015.

1. lukester macrumors 6502

I have a 17' mid 2010 with a 500gig SSD drive I like and it is getting full. I use a 1 gig backup on Airport and its full. I am a photographer so I have a lot of files and videos.
    My problem is I sit in my kitchen most of the time to work and I am trying not to fill up my counter with a bunch of external stuff.
    I have a Mstand to get my laptop off the counter up higher to avoid leaning and neck problems, with a 500 gig small TM drive inside it out of the way. No problem there.

My only hi speed output is firewire 800 and I have a 500 gig WD desktop drive I can use to take all my recent working files for the year and work on that but then I have an extra drive and wires sitting on my counter. I only have 1 outlet too, so I don't want my wife pulling the plug on the HD and then I need one for my laptop, I could put a strip there I guess but again messy.

I was looking at a Lacie 2 gig mobil HD with 3 inputs, usb 3, Firewire 800, Esat.
    I was thinking of using that and splitting it with my TM drive and file storage to save on my Laptop drive space.
    Then getting another 2-3 gig backup on my airport system

I basically like to have 2 backups until my jobs are filled for my clients so I don't need anything elaborate.

2. lukester thread starter macrumors 6502

Oh yeah another option if a portable drive, buss powered is not good as a desktop then I was thinking of a 2 gig G Drive, firewire, usb 3, 7200rppm only $179.. making two partitions 1 for files and the other for TM. I will just have to bite the bullet and keep on my counter too.

3. soupcan macrumors 6502a

soupcan

Both of the drives you pointed out are great drives. If you don't want to be depended on a power plug you're almost always limited to mobile drives.

4. lukester thread starter macrumors 6502