Backup question

Discussion in 'iMac' started by MiniD3, Mar 29, 2013.

1. MiniD3 macrumors 6502a

MiniD3

Hi Guys,
    Getting a new 27" iMac soon, hopefully 768GB SSD,

I'm new to Mac and also "techno challenged"

I have a ton of images on portable drives up to 3TB, some are 2TB

Appears it will be a slow process as the drives are FAT32, (only 4GB at a time they tell me!)

The scenario is,
    My computer is less than a GB,
    All my other drives are 2-3TB,
    Can Carbon Copy Cloner backup my portable drives? By transferring from one portable drive to another?
    Regards,
    Gary

2. Paul-B macrumors newbie

You really should go for the Time Machine/Time Capsule solution. This is so easy, seamless and, until now, faultless. - And you get a wireless router thrown in...

3. Shrink macrumors G3

Shrink

A second vote for this ^^^ solution.

You don't have to think about back up, it is done for you. And I have my TC wired into my cable provider router/modem, and it improves the wireless signal giving me the maximum available signal.

4. Fishrrman macrumors G4

I'll go against the others here, and recommend CCC as ALWAYS being the best choice.

CCC requires more "input" (that is, you have to set it up and run it, instead of flicking the switch in Time Machine), but -- the rewards come if you ever NEED your backup.

Anyone who's been a member of the MacRumors forums for a while has seen post after post after post from those who thought they were backed up with T.M., but -- in a moment of extreme need -- have discovered that their T.M. backup wouldn't mount or couldn't be used for some reason or other.

With a CCC cloned backup, all you do is connect it and do a switch-boot, and the Mac will boot right up and everything is right in front of you in POFF (plain old finder format). You can copy-over one file, a folder, a group of files, or "re-clone" the entire drive if you need to.