Backup questions - Ext HD & Time Machine

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Tawcan, May 21, 2009.

1. Tawcan macrumors newbie

Not sure if this is in the right section or not, apology if it's not.

Just some background information to start with:
    I have a MacBook Pro. I'm an amateur photographer so most of my data are photos. I currently shoot mostly in JPEG but would like to start shooting everything in RAW (bigger file size)

What I'd like to do in the future:
    Usually I end up with large number of pictures after each shooting session. I usually go through these pictures, select the best ones then edit them. Once I start shooting in RAW I'd then save the edited pics in RAW & TIFF formats as well as convert them to JPEG & upload the JPEG files online.

As you can see, the HD will get filled up quickly. Ultimately I'd only keep the edited TIFF files on my MBP HD. The rest of the files (original RAW files, edited RW, edited TIFF) would be stored on an external HD and preferably backed up on a 2nd external HD. I know time machine backs up the entire HD initially and does incremental backups afterwards.

Few questions:
    1. Can you use a firewire external harddrive to use Time Machine (I think you can). Is there benefit of choosing a firewire HD over a USB 2.0 HD?

2, Is there a way to configure time machine as to how often the incremental backup happens? Since I'm changing a lot of files would this mess up time machine?

3. If I use an external firewire HD, does that mean the HD has to be plugged in at all time for the incremental backup to happen? Or can TM be configured such that the incremental backup only happens whenever the ext HD is plugged in?

4. Without getting a Time Capsule, is it possible to set up a network HD to do what I want? What would this require? (I think an airport?)