Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Isobel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2007
Hi,
I'm new to AppleScript and I need to know how to backup all files in a folder to a shared network volume.

Can anyone help or point me in the right direction.

I need to find out how to:
- connect to a shared volume on a remote server,
- create a new folder on the shared volume,
- re-name it with the current date (preferrably formatted as YYYY-MM-DD),
- copy the contents of a local folder to it
- delete oldest folder on volume
- un-mount the volume

Any help at all would be very much appreciated.
Thanks
Isobel

Isobel

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 2, 2007
The files to be backed up are on a G5 iMac. I thought Applescript was the best way to go but I could be wrong (I'm a beginner here).

I would prefer it if the code mounted the drive IF it's not already mounted, then un-mount it at the end.

Should i be using a shell script instead?

mbabauer

macrumors regular
Feb 14, 2006
The files to be backed up are on a G5 iMac. I thought Applescript was the best way to go but I could be wrong (I'm a beginner here).

I would prefer it if the code mounted the drive IF it's not already mounted, then un-mount it at the end.

Should i be using a shell script instead?

I would use a shell script for this. I believe OS X has NFS mounting capabilities, if not I know if has some version of Samba for SMB mounting a remote drive.

Either way, you would have to have the drive "shared" on the G5 side and available. Then, your shell script would:
- Check if the mount point was there (I would mount to /Volumes, as this seems to be the OS X standard...most non-Apple *nix variants use /mnt though), and mount it if its not. this is very simple to do.