backup

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by Sikazzg35, Jan 16, 2012.

  1. Sikazzg35 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #1
    Frist of all, I just want to say thank you all for all the help that I got so far to get my new macbook air to function the way I want. Since I'm still a rookie in mac os, I need to create an image of my air just in case it crashes and I need to restore it. Beside time machine, what do you guys recommend that I use? :apple:
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    For an image, use CCC (above) or Super Duper.
     
  3. Sikazzg35 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #5
    Yes, as the VM is located inside your Home directory (Macintosh HD / Users / YOU /) and is just a file like any other for CCC.
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    Yes, but not BootCamp if you use that.
     
  6. Sikazzg35 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    #7
    Thanks for all the quick replies. From the help of you guys, I was able to import the boot camp partition to fusion so I'm no longer have a boot camp partition. I'll give CCC a try.
     
  7. gentlefury macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2011
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #8
    Time Machine is awesome and comes free with your mac! Just grab a drive that has enough to back up your system, plug it in and start backing up!
     
  8. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    CCC can back up the contents of the Boot Camp partition, but it cannot make a bootable clone of the partition.
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #10
    Have you done this before?
     
  10. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #11
    No, I don't use Boot Camp. Why?
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #12
    Because as far as I have experienced, CCC doesn't backup from NTFS or FAT32 sources, though it can clone to an exFAT volume.
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #13
    I'm just going by this: Can CCC back up my BootCamp (Windows) partition?
    This may also help: Backing up to/from network volumes and other non-HFS volumes
    Apparently it may have some limitations. On that page, see "Backing up the contents of an NTFS volume".
     
  13. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #14
  14. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #15
    Therefore, it will not clone the partition to a new drive.
     
  15. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #16
    It can backup/restore user files successfully. It just can't be used to restore the Windows OS.
     
  16. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #17
    Yeah, but the point of cloning is to have a complete, bootable backup - CCC can't do that with BC.
     
  17. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #18
    I agree. I guess I missed where the OP expressed a requirement that the backup be bootable.
     

Share This Page