Bad company 2 terrible graphics!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by wolfrace, Jun 1, 2010.

  1. wolfrace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #1
    Hey guys, I dunno much about computers, but i have this spec intel G5
    2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM

    and ive bought and installed battlefield bad company 2 on bootcamp (winXP), but whenever i try to play it, even on lowest graphics, there're these horizontal lines everywhere all the time, and whenever there's ANY damage on anything, the original of it keeps flashing constantly so i can't tell if somethings destroyed or not. for example if a building goes down, the animation for it happens and the debris is on the floor, but the image of the original building stays but keeps flashing. so its so hard to play and im really disappointed right now...

    walls/buildings/plants all keep flashing...

    is there any way to fix this? i read up on something called vsync and switched it on but it didnt do anything

    any help would be appreciated!!
     
  2. Mackilroy macrumors 68040

    Mackilroy

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    #2
    What kind of GPU do you have? And do you have the latest drivers for your card?
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  4. wolfrace thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #4
    gpu as in graphics card?

    it says ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro

    oh and ive updated everything in software update, do i need to go somewhere else for drivers?
     
  5. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #5
    Your card is a bottleneck, though you can try upping to 4GB of ram to see if that helps.
     
  6. wolfrace thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    #6
    bottleneck, as in terrible?

    i was afraid that the only way to fix this would be through getting actual upgrades for the system....sigh
     
  7. Rithem macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #7
    This. I doubt upping to 4GB would help very much. BC2 is ridiculously GPU heavy
     
  8. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #8
    Not really. Any decent desktop card from the last 2-3 and a half years can run it on Medium/High.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    I wouldn't recommend anything less than a Radeon HD 4830.
     
  10. DesmoPilot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2008
    #10
    My old 8800GTS 640 (from late '06 or early 07 forget when I picked it up) ran BC2 fine with a mix of medium/high settings. Don't know how the 4830 stacks up against it - 4830s probably faster.
     

Share This Page