Bad Company 2

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Rithem, May 18, 2010.

  1. Rithem macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #1
    Any tests done on BC2 with an i7 330m 512MB? I searched for a bit but couldn't find anything that said if it was playable on medium/high with playable FPS settings. Thanks guys.
     
  2. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
  3. Rithem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #3
    Since I couldn't really find any decent benchmarks on this I bought the game and tested it myself.

    Specs are Macbook Pro i7 @ 2.66 Ghz
    4 gbs ram
    330m 512 Vram
    Windows 7 64 bit

    I'm running it through steam and with overclocked settings I get an average about 40fps on all medium settings 1xAA 1xAF and high textures on 1024x768.

    I'm going to try and up the resolution Thursday (can't do it tomorrow since I have a midterm on Thursday to study for) and I'll let you guys know how it is.

    If anyone has any questions feel free to ask.
     
  4. BenXiaoHai macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    #4
    Got a few questions

    1. How do you overclock your system/gfx?
    2. Would the performance increase dramatically if you switch of AA?
    3. What would the performance be on a non-overclocked system
    4. Is the fps from single/multiplayer?

    Sorry for asking so many questions, but I'm verging to get bad company 2, so hoping my i5 2.4ghz can run it well at acceptable settings
     
  5. Rithem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #5
    1. I use nvidia performance program with non bootcamp drivers. There's a guide somewhere in the macbook pro forums. I'll try and get it later but I have to leave for class in about 10 minutes.
    2. Most likely. I can't seem to turn AA off :confused:
    3. It should be decent still.
    4. Multiplayer
     
  6. Rithem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #6
    Playing on 1280x1024 with textures and level detail on high.

    Getting about 40 fps still. Going to keep it like this probably
     
  7. Libertine Lush macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #7
    If you have the time, I'd like to know if you can play the game at native res (1060x1050) and obtain an fps consistently above 30. And if so, what were the highest settings possible to maintain that frame rate. Thanks.
     
  8. Rithem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #8
    I'll get on that soon but bad company has been freezing on me like no other. Going to reformat my Windows partition tomorrow and I'll let you know sometime this week.
     
  9. Libertine Lush macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #9
    Thank you. No rush at all.
     
  10. Rithem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #10
    I actually fixed my overclock so disregard all my previous posts. I'm now using nvidia inspector. The overclock settings wouldn't hold with nvidia performance for some reason.

    At 1280x1024 I hovered around 60fps on everything low settings and 50 or so (if I remember correctly) with high image quality and level detail.

    So at native res it's definitely playable. I got around 40ish on low settings. When I cranked the settings up to medium with 2x AA and 2x AF it held around 30fps, lowering a bit if particle effects came up. I didn't try a desert map with it but I'm sure it'll be a bit worse on desert maps since the dust seems to kill my fps.
     
  11. Libertine Lush macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #11
    I've never overclocked before, and I don't intend to since it's beyond my level of tech-savvy, so I'm not familiar with nvidia inspector. Does that mean your newly posted results are without overclocking?

    How many more fps would you get if you turned off AA or AF?

    I purchased Call of Duty 4 (not so well-optimized Mac version) a couple weeks ago. I'm able to play it at native res (1060x1050) with most settings enabled and textures maxed, maintaining FPS usually above 40, and up to 60 in areas without shrubbery. If, however, I turned on AA, it becomes unplayable. But AA doesn't make a dramatic visual difference with all the frantic motion for me, so I'd rather play at native res with other settings first maxed/enabled. AF is also at 16x and oddily has no impact on FPS.

    So basically if Bad Company 2 can get 30+fps at native res, with mostly maxed settings, despite no AA or AF, I'd probably have to get it.

    Thanks for taking the time to fulfill my request.
     
  12. Rithem thread starter macrumors 6502

    Rithem

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #12
    The FPS and settings were with overclocking. I'll try it out tonight outwith overclocking and let you know how it is.

    Edit: Tried it again with native res on the high res screen (1680x1024). On low it can get about 35fps, if I remember correctly, but with medium settings it definitely drops down to about 25. With overclock it is definitely playable but I wouldn't play it without overclocking on native res.
     
  13. Libertine Lush macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #13
    Thank you again for testing it out for me, Rithem!
     
  14. xi mezmerize ix macrumors 6502a

    xi mezmerize ix

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    #14
    youtube has a bunch of videos...i saw a stock i5 MBP running fine, so an i7 shouldnt be a problem
     
  15. Libertine Lush macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    #15
    The ones I saw, by a guy with a Scottish accent, were not at native res and with medium settings, I believe. Still, at a lower res, if this game looks comparable to the console versions (what res does it run on on consoles?), I might still get it. Is that logic sound?: if you play the computer version of a game at roughly the same resolution as the console version, it should look about as good (so long as settings aren't at low)? Extending that further, if you play the game at a higher res than the console version, it should look much better?

    I saw the first hour of gameplay at GameTrailers several weeks back and was impressed. And I heard the online play demands more teamwork than most, so that's a plus.
     

Share This Page