bad ESN verizon iPhone 5S in europe

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by cliptheapex, Sep 18, 2014.

  1. cliptheapex macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    #1
    Hi there,
    I have been searching for info on bad esn verizon iphones in europe, and if they work with sim and gsm networks. Everything I've read leads me to believe it works without a problem (if the imei is fine and icloud too).

    Can anyone confirm me this? Do I simply insert the sim card and use the phone? Will it have problems with iOS updates?
     
  2. milda.820 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #2
    Same question

    I want to ask to same question! :)
     
  3. bidwalj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #3
    Yes. That's how it works. The bad esn doesnt make a diff in Europe
     
  4. milda.820 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #4
    So, if I understood correctly. It will work without problems :)
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  6. TahoeDust macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
  7. milda.820 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #7
    Someone told me that it wont work because U.S. carriers use CDMA and another one told me that it will work because all iPhones 5/5S/5C has GSM and CDMA modul.

    I dont know but I am glad for your respond :)

    Thanks a lot.
     
  8. kell1831 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #8
    Clarifying -- Buying Bad ESN for Abroad??

    Just to clarify --

    I live in Egypt and want to buy an iPhone 6. Can I buy one that has a bad ESN, but is not linked to an iCloud account?? Can I expect this phone to work abroad here?

    If anyone has any firsthand experience of doing this abroad, your story would be appreciated!! :):)
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    As long as it's a Verizon one.
    A sprint one will not work since those are locked.
    Make sure also it's not iCloud locked.
     
  10. kell1831 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #10
    Thanks Applejuiced!

    Do you happen to know about AT&T or T-Mobile? Would they also work with a bad ESN?
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Yes.
    But they need to be unlocked.
    If they are not they won't work with any other carriers sims.
    You can purchase imei unlocks for them but they are expensive.
     

Share This Page