Bad Ram

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by dukebound85, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. dukebound85 macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #1
  2. Matthew Yohe macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2006
    #2
    Considering the 2,1 can only really use 2GB of RAM (According to Apple, but if you put in 2 2GB sticks, you'll get 3GB) you could have a problem if you've only put in one stick.
     
  3. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #3
    only having one stick would make it not work?
     
  4. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #5
    I would run a memtest but the computer doesnt stay stable long enough for me to run it:(

    I mean, the ramI linked to should work right??
     
  5. Detrius macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    #6
    I have no idea what actual model this "2,1" refers to. I know models by their official names which tend to include years of release. The older MacBooks all take PC2-5300, so yes, that should theoretically work.

    Reseat the RAM. If that doesn't fix it, stick the original RAM back in. If it's stable, then the other module is bad. Run a memtest to verify.
     
  6. dukebound85 thread starter macrumors P6

    dukebound85

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Location:
    5045 feet above sea level
    #7
    The model is A1181

    I put the original ram back in and it's fine again
     

Share This Page