Bad Resolution for One User on Mac Mini - Help?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by bsu4phd, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. bsu4phd macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #1
    All,

    The log-on screen and super user display just fine on my Mac Mini connected to my LCD TV.

    But I experimented with the resolution while logged in as my default user & now the screen is black.

    I've read about resetting the Mac Mini video settings or OS reinstall, but this applies to all video on the computer.

    My issue is just for one user.

    Thanks in advance for your help! Marc
     
  2. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #2
    If you have a second display, connect the unit to it and correct the display preferences and then try again with the LCD TV.
     
  3. NightSailor macrumors 6502

    NightSailor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #3
    You have set the screen resolution to a setting too high for your monitor. I like the other fellows suggestion. Hook it up to another monitor and reduce the resolution before hooking up to the working monitor.

    I seem to recall having this problem. I hooked it up to a Dell 24" display to fix it.
     
  4. bsu4phd thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    #4
    Thanks

    Thanks for your help.

    Before I disconnect my Mini Mac & move it to my office, or disconnect my monitor & move it close to my Mini Mac...

    Is there some way, as Admin, to edit the system preferences of a user?

    I could just blow this user away & start over...

    Thanks again!
     
  5. mcavjame macrumors 65816

    mcavjame

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Location:
    phased to this universe
    #5
    I guess it depends how much time you have invested setting up the user. If you have an established user with files and programs, I'd think twice. If you just set the user up, then it's no biggie to do that again.

    As far as I remember, account preferences that can be manipulated are access to programs, time restrictions, web sites etc.
     
  6. ADent macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #6
    There is a preference (plist) somewhere that holds the resolution. I would think a google search could find this.

    Also if you unplug the monitor cable while the computer is on then plug it back in, this tends to reset the screen.

    If you have another computer you could screen share in to this one.
     
  7. Passive101 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    #7
    Can you change it from the safe mode? I think you hold shift while booting to go into safe mode.
     

Share This Page