band new imac wont start up!!

Discussion in 'iMac' started by maximill15, Apr 2, 2008.

  1. maximill15 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #1
    i need help people. so in my excitement of opening my new computer i turned it on and put in the first installation disk and now the computer is stuck on the grey screen with the grey apple and the gears turning below it! Normally the start-up application starts running. i've tried everything in the manual so i turned to you guys, help please!
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #2
    If it's a new computer, why are you inserting the install disk? ...Did you try booting without it?
     
  3. maximill15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #3
    yeah, the disk is stuck in there and i can't get it to eject. i've tried rebooting it, also while holding down the option key, also command, option, p,r keys and nothing happens! please help!
     
  4. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #4
    Try restarting while holding the mouse button to get the disk out.
     
  5. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #5
    Try to reboot and as soon as you press the power button press the CD eject key... the one with the line and triangle tip pointing up... upright hand side of the key board.

    And why, as was asked, did you put the DVD in before it booted at all...?
     
  6. maximill15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #6
    my friend put because it said set-up on it!! and i have a wireless keyboard so it's prob not linked yet!
     
  7. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #7
    Choose your friends more wisely, and for sure get at least one new friend.
     
  8. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #8
    Did you try holding the mouse button while restarting? ...In the event that your wireless mouse has yet to pair, is there a usb mouse in the house that you can borrow for this purpose?
     
  9. maximill15 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #9
    lol no, only a power book. is it possible to use firewire to link the lab top and new imac:confused:
     
  10. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #10
    LOL indeed... you posted in the desktop section.. as in iMac... not the laptop section... as in MBP. Take it to an Apple store, they will get it out for you. And again, you are born into family but we choose our friends... choose better next time.:)
     

Share This Page