Bandwidth Questions!

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by jaynone, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. jaynone macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    #1
    Hi Folks, Networking questions for everyone here.

    I live in Canada and as such have a capped broadband internet access. Starting last month I got home from a long business trip and it was my first month with my new iPad, iCloud, iPhone all on the same network. Normally my bandwidth usage was between 17-25 gigs.

    So far this month I've gone up to about 65 gigs. Its somewhat understandable, a good chunk of that was uploading my music to iCloud, downloading a bit of music from iCloud, a few iTunes movies. The bandwidth spike is mostly understandable, but I am still curious if I can somehow monitor my usage on my network. Unfortunately I have an airport extreme so it doesn't support any of these features. I'm wondering if I could turn my powermac g5 into a router and somehow track which devices are using bandwidth and when. The G5 has an airport card so in theory I could plug my modem into it and then share the connection. I'm just curious if the software exists to monitor the usage.

    I'm kind of curious if anyone has any other suggestions or ideas on what I can do to monitor my usage, since moving to a country with better prices doesn't seem to be a feasible option at the moment.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    The Airport Extreme does support bandwidth monitoring. Because it's a SNMP device, you can use monitoring tools to see what your usage it. I use NetUse Traffic Monitor from the Mac App Store to monitor the usage of my network.
     
  3. Macman45 macrumors demi-god

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
  4. jaynone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    #4
    Does will it let me view the usage when my mbp isn't on? If I leave my laptop off for the night and then check in the morning will it show what was happening overnight?
     
  5. jaynone thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    #5
    I use istat menus, but that only shows the usage on my MBP, and LAN traffic is included.

    I downloaded surplus meter and played with it, and now its broken and won't start, it been endlessly bouncing in the dock for some time now.

    I've got "ieyenet" widget that monitors SNMP from my airport, but once more only when my machine is on.

    I'm more curious to see a breakdown by individual IP on my network.
     
  6. DustinT macrumors 68000

    DustinT

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    #6
    You know, somehow I missed that. Thanks for posting. lol.
     

Share This Page