Bang for the buck

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Fasailmac, Mar 5, 2010.

1. Fasailmac macrumors member

hey guys, im in quite a little dillemma. I had originally purchased an hp envy whose palm rest started to creak so i returned it and bought a refurb 2.53 pro for 1499, leaving 400 left over. In canada The Z has been released and will be shipping out on the 12th. Im a first year university student and i need something that will last me until my first year in grad school. The Z can be bought with the following specs
    2 64 gb ssd in raid
    nvidia 330m gt
    2.4 i5 processor
    1600*900 Display
    4gb of ram
    windows 7
    for 1899 canadian
    What would be better for me in the long run. My needs are as follows, i do a little bit of gaming, word,office, need 4 hours of battery, multiple browsers open, itunes. Thanks a lot

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Then the MBP should more than suffice. You don't need the i5 to do what you want to do,

3. LesQQmorePewPew macrumors member

except he needs it for the next 4-5 years. except the mbp is using technology that came out 4 years ago. except the total performance of the computer relies on more than just the processor (better SSD, better screen resolution, better GPU, etc)

don't go with the MBP. its a ripoff for the hardware you get for the price

4. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

So the current MBP is using components that came out four years ago?

I know where you come from, but in the end it comes down to what OS the OP likes to use for the next four years, as even the MBP should hold that long with the needs the OP informed us about.

One does not have to have the latest technology to get things done, it's a nice plus sometimes, but not necessary.

Up until 7 months ago I worked on a G4 PowerMac that was used for broadcast television shows. It was slow in some ways, but it got the work done.

5. elpmas macrumors 68000

elpmas