Bank of America mobile application

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by cmcbridejr, Jul 13, 2008.

  1. cmcbridejr macrumors 6502a

    cmcbridejr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #1
    I just wanted to let everyone know that the BOA mobile application is not the same as the web application because I keep reading everyone saying it is the same. It's not!

    With the mobile application, you can now find banking centers and ATM machines by using location awareness. This is huge for those that do not always know what zip code they are in.

    Also, keep in mind this is only the release version. I am sure BOA will continue to add more features.

    By the way, I am not an employee of BOA, just a customer that is happy to see the company show interest in making my banking experiences better.

    What other banks are doing this? None, as far as I know.

    Thank you Bank of America!
     
  2. lakaiordie macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    #2
    i downloaded this too. makes it much easier than going into safari and going to the site from there
     
  3. phatcat macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    #3
    I love it. I can pay my bills via the phone. It's very convenient if you bank with them.
     
  4. Jeremy1026 macrumors 68020

    Jeremy1026

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #4
    At WWDC Jobs said that 5 of the top 7 commercial banks were developing native applications.
     
  5. cmcbridejr thread starter macrumors 6502a

    cmcbridejr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #5
    Just curious... Have any other banks jumped on board the App Store train yet? If not, that is weak and it makes me proud to be with Bank of America.
     
  6. QCassidy352 macrumors G3

    QCassidy352

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

    It may not be exactly the same, but it's pretty close. Now if I could do transfers from the app that would be worthwhile, but I'm not putting it back on my iPhone for the added functionlity of location finding. I have google maps if it's reply that important.
     
  7. Lara F macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Location:
    Montreal, Quebec
    #7
    I've been frustrated with this app for months - for some reason my iPhone will just not log into mobile banking. I get up to the right SiteKey, but when I put in my passcode I get the message "We were unable to sign you into mobile banking. Please visit online banking from a desktop or laptop computer to resolve this issue." Needless to say I have and can log into the main full site without problem. (I can also log into the full site on my iPhone via mobile Safari...but that doesn't help with the app.)

    I'm in NYC (not Washington State) and called BoA customer service, they insist everything's set up properly on their end. Very annoying. :( FWIW, the same thing happens when I try on an iPod Touch so I still suspect something with my BoA account. If anyone has some idea for a solution to enable mobile banking, I'd appreciate it.
     
  8. jason72780 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #8
    I've been able to do transfers since the day it came out. I don't think it can set one up, but the 3 accounts I regularly transfer to work fine.
     
  9. lorenwade macrumors 68000

    lorenwade

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    #9
    I have used it multiple times on my touch. Works great!
     
  10. JForestZ34 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #10
    I love this app too.. I've been using it since day one and love that I can tranfer funds also.. I haven't tried the location finder yet but I'm sure I will..


    James
     
  11. tgerrick37 macrumors newbie

    tgerrick37

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    The same error message has happened to me, they claim that everything is fine on their end, and I even had to reset my passkey with them. However I still get the error message.

    Has anyone gotten this resolved?
     
  12. ddca1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    #12
    I'm also getting the same error and both AT&T and BofA insist that there is nothing that needs to be enabled on their end. Any ideas?
     
  13. HiFiGuy528 macrumors 68000

    HiFiGuy528

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #13
    BofA app is a joke compared to the Citi app. It crashes most of the time and it's slow.
     
  14. jatt559 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    #14
    Chase has it too.
     
  15. JCastro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    #15
    I have found this app to be very slow and I really can't do much with it other than check my current balance. I wish the app would save my log-in info so I didn't have to enter it every time. I know it is for security purposes, but that is why I keep my phone locked. FWIW, accessing BoA via Safari is not any better.
     
  16. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #16
    Maybe its not the same, but you'll need to really look into using it see the differences. I have it, and to be honest it all but looks like the mobile webpage. I don't see what I can do in the app that I cannot do in the web page.
     
  17. fleshman03 macrumors 68000

    fleshman03

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA
    #17
    So are those two the ones that went under?
     
  18. cmcbridejr thread starter macrumors 6502a

    cmcbridejr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #18
    The BOA app can be used to find Banks/ATMs near your location using the iPhone's GPS. When you use the web version, you have to manually enter a location to search.
     
  19. cmcbridejr thread starter macrumors 6502a

    cmcbridejr

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    #19
    I've been using it since it came out in December almost every day and never had it crash. Maybe you should reinstall it. However, you're right, it can be slow at times (but that is only on Edge, not WiFi - I don't have 3G). I don't remember any updates since it came out. I hope they optimize it for OS 3 and add more features.
     

Share This Page