Barclaycard Finance Question

Discussion in 'iPad' started by MrJay23, Dec 9, 2011.

1. MrJay23 macrumors member

So i have a Barclaycard from Apple when i bought my macbook and i use it as my credit card now since im just a college student.

I got an email from them saying that if i make a purchase 600+ its 12 months interest free and under 600 it 6 months interest free.

I want to buy an iPad, but i want the new one which will come out AFTER January, so I'm thinking, can i buy a 50 dollar gift card (i'll be getting apple gift cards for the ipad also) so i can get the 6 months interest free?

Thanks

2. MrJay23 thread starter macrumors member

3. davedvdy macrumors regular

4. cjgrif macrumors member

No

I don't have one of these cards, but generally an interest-free promotion is only for a single purchase, other purchases will still accumulate interest. So buying a $50 iTunes card may get you 6 months interest free on the $50 purchase, but that will not apply to the entire balance of your card. Usually any payments made will apply to promotional or lower interest rate balances before higher interest, regular balances.

To really benefit from these offers, you should not have a balance on the card when making the promotional purchase, and make no new purchases while paying on the promotional balance. You would also need to pay off the entire purchase before the 6/12 months are over, or they add all of the interest that accumulated over that period of time, so really you don't save anything.

The better route is to start stashing some money away now, so you will be able to purchase it when it comes out, or at least use that to pay for part of it and put the rest on your card, and pay the remaining off as quickly as possible!

5. MrJay23 thread starter macrumors member

6. upsbrown macrumors newbie