Base 2.0 15" w/ antiglare or 2.2 15" w/ nothing

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by turnstylez18, Feb 25, 2011.

1. turnstylez18, Feb 25, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2011

turnstylez18 macrumors regular

Canadian Prices Here!

Which would you choose? I really like the anti-glare but the gpu on the base 15" is what worries me.

Base 2.0 15" w/ antiglare
    $1849 + $150 = $1999

or

2.2 15" w/ no add-ons
    $2049 education discount (not a student)
    (reason: I know it's wrong but the apple store rep asked if I was a student and he offered to give me discount)

I really can't spend more than $2200/$2300 total before taxes and taxes are high.

So it's either anti-glare or the better gpu. I will use this as an everyday work computer, I work from home. I use the typical office programs, adobe ps, some multimedia like editing hd videos, music, movies etc.

Any suggestions?

2. Buck987 macrumors 6502a

Depends on needs...lots of photo stuff than antiglare.

3. turnstylez18 thread starter macrumors regular

More basic apps than anything...I don't see myself using this for graphic design or even much gaming...I have my ps3...

Maybe photography/video editing apps at the most

4. doingitlive macrumors member

dude cant you just buy one of those anti-glare stickies? its not worth a GPU thats for sure.

5. Buck987 macrumors 6502a

best processor is key for video editing...

i think go for the best processer...i dont have problems with the glossy screens...but many users do

6. turnstylez18 thread starter macrumors regular

prefer not to have the sticker on it....it's tough to swallow if I dont get the better gpu but is spending more for something I'm not 100% sure i'll use worth it?

7. turnstylez18 thread starter macrumors regular

BTW, I have an old blackbook I'm using now. I think it's on its last legs, will the base 15" even be an improvement? I think it's a gma 950

8. acedickson macrumors 6502a

acedickson