Base 21.5'' vs High end 21.5''.

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Bewarethewolves, May 20, 2011.

  1. Bewarethewolves macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #1
    Sorry if this topic has been covered before but I am going to be purchasing one of the new 21.5'' imacs, and i want to be sure I make the right choice. The main thing i will be using the mac for is Logic studio, my budget is not massive but i could raise the extra £250 for the high end version if recommended. But will I really need the extra 500GB hard drive? or the slightly better processor? If Logic will run just as good on the base model then i would rather get that to save a bit of money, but I don't want to have the base model a few months, only to realise that I should have gone wth the higher end version. Thank you in advance for any help.
     
  2. Domino8282 macrumors 6502a

    Domino8282

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Location:
    Southeast USA
    #2
    Just my own opinion from personal experience - if you have even an inkling that you might regret not buying the high-end model, then hold out for it. There have been times I've bought lesser models trying to be economical, and those nagging doubts will drive you nuts regardless of performance.

    On the practical side, you can always add external storage, so the larger hard drive is just a personal preference thing. You will see a huge performance gain with a solid state drive (in case you haven't heard, it's the latest "omg" upgrade that actually makes a profound difference in boot time and application launching). As for CPU, I'd strongly recommend getting the fastest one possible. You can add storage and RAM later, but you can't swap the CPU.
     
  3. Kerel macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Location:
    Weimar Germany
    #3
    True, but i dont think you´ll notice any difference because of a mere 8% higher clockspeed unless you opt for the i7 in the high end model but that ads another $200.
     
  4. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #4
    To be exact. It's $500more from base 21.5" iMac. Apple didnt include i7 option in base 21" iMac, it has to be hi end 21" and extra $200 for the i7. sad aint it?

    But for that extra, apple get u 1tb hdd and slightly better gpu (6770m instead of 6750m)

    So basically we're stuck dead on base 21". Apple dont allow it to perform better by including i7 option.

    Its your call OP. If u dont do anything too heavy, base 21" should satisfy u. Its either going cheap or going mad, nothing in between :)
     
  5. Duluth Baptist macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Location:
    Duluth, MN
    #5
    I haven't used Logic, but I got an iMac a 14 months ago and I didn't get the fancy i3 option that was available at the time. All those benchmark scores those new i5s and i7s get completely wipe out my base 21.5 machine.

    But I doubt that I would notice any problems running Logic. My computer easily has even the "additionally recommended" performance requirements, and the base requirements could be filled by my old white Intel iMac from 2006. I run Adobe Premiere and After Effects and my only performance limitation is RAM, which you can upgrade yourself.

    You're talking about chips that are even more powerful and will be good enough to do top-line Logic work for years. The base model will be fine.
     
  6. Bewarethewolves thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #6
    Thanks for your help people. Does anyone else have an opinion on this matter, before I make my final decision?
     
  7. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #7
    Yeah ... try to swap the standard MagicMouse with Magic TrackPad if possible.

    Unless they gave MagicMouse for free, I wouldn't bother to pick it :p
    At least that's MY opinion lol
     
  8. sinser macrumors 6502a

    sinser

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    #8
    This.
     
  9. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #9
    People really knock the magic mouse, but if you're using adobe photoshop or illustrator fairly regularly, the magic trackpad isn't an option.
     
  10. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #10
    For that purpose you may stick with Logitech wired USB mouse, more sensitive, accurate, and no battery needed. Just unplug it when you dont use it, keep your environment clean just as iMac should :)
    No need for another BetterTouchTool to get the most of your mouse.

    Among those Apple input devices, MagicMouse is the most battery hog... you´d have to recharge/replace batteries so soon with that mouse. Not the case with wireless keyboard/trackpad combination.

    And beside, is there any gesture that Magic TrackPad can´t do? Gestures that can only be done with MagicMouse? There are a lot gestures you´d miss if you flip the question :p
     
  11. Badger^2 macrumors 68000

    Badger^2

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Location:
    Sacramento
    #11
    You really should be. -1

    Buy what you can afford.

    http://forums.macrumors.com/search.php?searchid=23428322
     
  12. NutsNGum macrumors 68030

    NutsNGum

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #12
    Wasn't referring to gestures.

    I've got a Macbook Pro, if I want to gesticulate, I'll use the trackpad on that.

    I don't have to replace the batteries especially frequently in the Magic Mouse, but I buy duracell, so that might be why.

    I don't like using USB mice because there are only two slots on the MBP, and more often than not I need them both for something else, besides, I've gotten quite used to having a wireless setup and don't really like the idea of having wires cluttering up the desk anymore.
     
  13. Galapagos macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2011
    #13
  14. Bewarethewolves thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    #14

Share This Page