Base 27 inch model and bf3?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by cjddrum1, May 3, 2011.

  1. cjddrum1 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_6 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8E200 Safari/6533.18.5)

    Will the base 27 inch model run battlefield 3 on windows 7 okay? I'm debating an upgrade.
     
  2. glitch44 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #2
    Certainly not at 2560x1440. It might run medium / low settings at a lower resolution. No one can say for sure because BF3 is still four months away, but it's going to be very GPU intensive.
     
  3. MR.Raul macrumors regular

    MR.Raul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    Sweden
    #3
    Also interested to know if it's looking good for the high end 27" with the 6970M 2GB to be able to play BF3 smoothly on the highest settings?
     
  4. cjddrum1 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
  5. iSayuSay macrumors 68030

    iSayuSay

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    #5
    Of course base 27" iMac would run BF3, but don't hope to make it look like the jawdropping trailer you saw on Youtube :)

    Not in 1440p, you may get it on 720p though .. but let's wait the benchmark first, shall we?
     
  6. archer75 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Location:
    Oregon
    #6
    Games not even out yet, how are we to know? Have they listed any sort of system requirements for the game?
     
  7. glitch44 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    #7
    2560x1440 at the highest settings? Of course not. They've said if you can run Bad Company 2 then you'll be able to run BF3, although "better systems will get more eye candy". The 6970m can run BC2 at : 1920x1080 high, HBAO on, 4xAA, 8xAF and get 49.7 fps. But BC2 is Frostbite 1.5 and BF3 is Frostbite 2, so I suspect the frame rates will take more of a hit (and you'll have to run at a lower resolution)
     

Share This Page