Base model 13 mbp + FCE = ?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Drago89, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. Drago89 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    #1
    Ok,so i'm planing to buy the base model and then upgrade myself the ram to 4 gb and probably the hdd to 7200rpm.Already got a 22 inch monitor which i'll hook up to the mac when i need more screen estate.The thing is that i have no idea if the mbp can handle video editing with FCE.So anyone using that mbp or similar for that kind of work can help me find out ? :)
     
  2. uaecasher macrumors 65816

    uaecasher

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Location:
    Stillwater, OK
    #2
    it can handle it my friend got 3 years old and uses it for movie editing with FCE

    edit: don't get 7200rpm just get SSD
     
  3. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    A Mac computer with a 1.25GHz or faster PowerPC G4, PowerPC G5, Intel Core Duo, Intel Core 2 Duo, or Intel Xeon processor
    For AVCHD: A Mac computer with an Intel processor
    1GB of RAM or more
    An AGP or PCI Express graphics card compatible with Quartz Extreme; or an Intel GMA integrated graphics processor in a MacBook or Mac mini computer
    Some FxPlug filters are not compatible with integrated Intel graphics processors.
    A display with 1024-by-768 resolution or higher
    A DVD drive for installation
    Mac OS X v10.4.10 or later
    QuickTime 7.2 or later
    500MB of disk space to install Final Cut Express and LiveType
    Additional 500MB to install LiveType content


    from http://www.apple.com/finalcutexpress/specs.html


    So it seems the base model will handle FCE quite well.

    Editing video is not that CPU and GPU heavy, unless you throw a lot of many effects on every clip and so on.
    HD might also be a little bit taxing, but it will work nonetheless.

    At work we edit with 5 year old Power Macs, so a new machine will do the job.
     
  4. Sirmausalot macrumors 6502a

    Sirmausalot

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2007
    #4
    I've been running FCS 2 on it without a hitch. The 800 FW port is awesome and you should make sure you have a fast external drive for all of your media.
     
  5. polaris20 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #5
    Lots of good posts in this thread. So often I see people asking about tasks related to video or audio, with people responding with complete overkill responses.

    Will a 3.06Ghz C2D be better than a G4 for audio/video? Sure, absolutely. Is it 100% necessary? Not always.

    I remember editing SD video on a 400Mhz DP PowerMac. Even that wasn't too bad.
     

Share This Page