Base model 5k iMac worth buying?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by SpottieOttie, Dec 20, 2014.

  1. SpottieOttie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    #1
    I'm looking to purchase a 5k iMac that will last me a good few years. I'd be mainly using it for photo (some video) editing and gaming. problem is I can only afford the base model. I also do need a new computer for work relatively soon. Will I be able to get a few years use out of it without "wanting more" soon? Thanks for the help.
     
  2. andy9l macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Location:
    England, UK
    #2
    For photo and video editing, I'm sure it would suffice since that's the primary use it's marketed towards, and theoretically built for.

    Gaming for a "good few years", probably not. You're running a mobile GPU, remember. I've ordered the 4.0GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 512GB SSD, m295x 5K iMac in the hope that it'll run some reasonable games smoothly at 1440p (technically half of the native resolution). I'm not holding my breath, though, but am anxious to see how Apple's latest Windows 8.1 bootcamp drivers perform with the 5K screen.

    You're always going to want more – as soon as the next model comes out. You mentioned you need a new computer for your own livelihood. For work, I can't imagine it letting you down. Even the base model is a mid-high end desktop computer, with a stand-out display.

    Having said that, since it is a first-gen product, I sure as hell bought AppleCare. I suggest you do the same. Remember too, you've got 14 days to test the thing and send it back if you don't feel it brings you the value Apple claim it will – ie. $2,500.

    Edit: I should ask – what are you upgrading from?
     
  3. AR86 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2014
    #3
    Having read lots about the performance etc. at a minimum i'd look at upgrading the GPU given the tasks you want to use it for.
     
  4. Steveatesh, Dec 21, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2014

    Steveatesh macrumors regular

    Steveatesh

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    North east England
    #4
    I have the base model but with 16 gig ram from crucial. I use it for what you want.

    It's fine. No problems experienced, will get better as Adobe adapt their software to use the GPU too.

    I've tried Aftershot Pro 2 which uses the GPU and everything is instant, just to demonstrate what it can do.
     

Share This Page