Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dwd3885

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Dec 10, 2004
I'm going to go to the Apple Store soon to buy a 15" MBP and I'd like to know if I should get the base model or the mid-level model.

I do some video editing in iMovie and use Photoshop quite a bit as well as Lightroom and iPhoto. Not a professional though. I'm a high school teacher that teaches desktop publishing along with digital media (audio, photo, video).

Is the mid-level worth the $250 extra it'll cost me? Concerned about the 9400m vs 9600m GT. The hard drive difference is there, as is the 2.66 vs 2.53.

Quick responses needed, because I'm going very soon!

THanks!

joehahn

macrumors regular
Jun 15, 2009
CT
get the mid level one if you could afford it. It'll make everything you're doing a little bit faster.

Davidkoh

macrumors 65816
Aug 2, 2008
I'm going to go to the Apple Store soon to buy a 15" MBP and I'd like to know if I should get the base model or the mid-level model.

I do some video editing in iMovie and use Photoshop quite a bit as well as Lightroom and iPhoto. Not a professional though. I'm a high school teacher that teaches desktop publishing along with digital media (audio, photo, video).

Is the mid-level worth the $250 extra it'll cost me? Concerned about the 9400m vs 9600m GT. The hard drive difference is there, as is the 2.66 vs 2.53.

Quick responses needed, because I'm going very soon!

THanks!

If you are gonna play any games or something like that you'll want the 9600m GT, otherwise I see no reason to have the more expensive one.

Hero33

macrumors member
Aug 8, 2007
Makati, Philippines
If you can afford the extra 250 dollars, it would not hurt to future proof your laptop a bit more. Better to have a bit more than you need when it comes to technology.

Freyqq

macrumors 601
Dec 13, 2004