baseband 05.12.01 bad?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by supremedalek, Dec 16, 2010.

  1. supremedalek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #1
    I have here an iphone 3G with firmware 3.1.3 (7E18) and baseband 05.12.01. Can I jailbreak/unlock it or this baseband will fight with me?
     
  2. Myzhi macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    #2
    That's a unlockable baseband. JB with Redsnow and unlock with Ultrasnow.
     
  3. lucifiel macrumors 6502a

    lucifiel

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Location:
    In your basement
  4. supremedalek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for the suggestion. I JB it with redsn0w... I think. One interesting thing is that it would not take the 3.1.3 image; I had to use 3.1.2. However, firmware is reported as 3.1.3. And the Baseband is still reported 05.12.01; is that to be expected?

    One thing I did notice is I am not able to connect to my wireless network so I can download ultrasn0w.

    Oh really? Do tell me more! :D
     
  5. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #5
    You will need to connect to some sort of wifi to update cydia and install ultrasnow.
    Is it a problem with your wifi at home or your iphones wifi not working?
     
  6. supremedalek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #6
    The iphone's wifi is the one not cooperating; I am typing this in my laptop connected to the wireless without a problem. And, my old 2G iphone finds the wireless fine. Only the 3G is being uncooperative.
     
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Your wifi chip inside the phone might have died on you.
     
  8. supremedalek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #8
    That would suck quite a lot. Anyway to find out for sure?
     
  9. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #9
    Try connecting to some other wifi's also and see how it goes.
    Is it even on and scanning for signal or just disabled or grayed out?
     
  10. supremedalek, Dec 16, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010

    supremedalek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #10
    It's acting like it is scanning for signal. Every so often it shows my network, or one of the 20+ ones nearby, but never more than one and always with the worst signal possible (my antenna is like 5m from me).

    I wonder how hard is it to open the 3G; maybe the wire to the antenna is just loose or something?

    Update: I do not know if this is relevant, but I turned bluetooh on. My laptop was able to connect to it and even offer to pair with it... though it took a few attempts.
     
  11. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #11
    Glad you connected thru bluetooth. Dont open up the iphone if you're not 100% sure what you're doing. You can cause alot more damage, there is no wire to the wifi antenna or anything like that. Its all built into the logic board.
     
  12. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #12
    I had a number of 3G’s with the "wifi died" problem. The freezer test is one way to check if it’s the chip.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Yep, I forgot about that.
    Try the freezer thing bro.
     
  14. supremedalek, Dec 17, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2010

    supremedalek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    #14
    Dumb question: what *is* the freezer test? Put phone in ziploc bag in freezer for a while and then try it?

    Update: I see now what you mean, http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=10761129&postcount=2.

    Update2: I had phone in the freezer for 20 minutes and then tried to use the wireless. It still cannot see any networks at all. Should I try again?
     
  15. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #15
    I wouldn’t. If the chip is affected by heat, then you see results almost immediately after taking it out of the freezer. Of course, you still could have a chip problem.

    Your other option is to reheat the solder in an oven (google the many links to this), but you take the risk of ruining the phone for good. I did this, and my wifi worked for a week, but then stopped again on my 3G. There’s probably a post somewhere with my username in here posting my results and a link to the oven method. I wouldn’t bother, if I were you, after having done it myself.
     
  16. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #16
    I'd say sell it as is and get a 3GS or iphone 4.
    The iphone 3G is outdated anyway.
     

Share This Page