Baseband 5.15....can I downgrade?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by QMdude, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. QMdude macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #1
    So I made the foolish mistake up updating to firmware 4.2.1 via iTunes, and have baseband 5.15.14.....

    I tried using iTunes to unlock via an IPSW from iClarified for 4.1, or 4.0, but to no avail.

    Is using the iPad firmware the only way to unlock this phone?

    Thanks
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You cannot downgrade at this time. The only way to unlock is with the iPad baseband.
     
  3. QMdude thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #3
    I don't plan to get data (I have a GoPhone SIM, just for talk and text). From my understanding, GPS uses data in some way...since I don't have data nor plan to, I'm not missing out on GPS (since it won't work anyways) correct?
     
  4. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #4
    I believe you have a 3G where the latest firmware is 4.2.1' baseband 5.15.14. If you are lucky enough to have one of the early model with boot loader 05.08, then you can downgrade it's baseband. Otherwise, you are SOL.

    Why don't you download/install tiny umbrella, hook your phone to your PC" run it and see what boot loader you have on your phone first?
     
  5. QMdude thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    #5
    What is tiny umbrella? I have baseband 5.15.04
     
  6. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
  7. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #7
    Gps does not use data.
     

Share This Page