<BaseInstaller Carbon><CarbonLib> ??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by grafikat, May 28, 2007.

  1. grafikat macrumors 6502a

    grafikat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    #1
    Howdy,
    I'm currently on the road, and brought my CS1 disks to install on my MacBook. When I try to install...(that is, when I doubleclick the "install Adobe Creative Suite" icon, I get the following error:

    The application "Install Adobe Creative Suite" could not be launched because of a shared library error: <BaseInstaller Carbon> <CarbonLib><CFMPriv_SpeechRecognition><InvokeSRTapUPP>


    I've run Disk Utilities, Verified the hard drive and reset permissions. Everything checks out OK, but even after several reboots, I get this error.

    I Need to be able to work on the road! any thoughts?
    Cheers,
    Kat
     
  2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #2
    Have you tried it on a different user account to tell if it's an account or system wide problem?
     
  3. grafikat thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grafikat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    #3
    Yup...no joy.

    Even a good old fashioned PRAM zap did no good.

    Any other thoughts?
     
  4. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #4
    That error sounds like a problem with a library or a framework, that CS1 uses to operate on OS X.

    Google those error messages within the context of CS1, you might find some answers.
     
  5. iBookG4user macrumors 604

    iBookG4user

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #5
    If you have access to your install disks, then you can do an archive and install, that should fix the issue if you have time to do it.
     
  6. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #6
    Let's see if anyone else has had this problem first, I'd hate suggest nuking your operating environment as the first step.
     
  7. sparkyms macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Location:
    Southampton UK
    #7
  8. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #8
    (sighs)

    I doubt that repairing permissions will do anything. This is not the logical first step either!
     
  9. grafikat thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grafikat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    #9
    arrg!

    So I backed up the hard drive and reinstall...and that's when everything went to h3ll in a handbasket.

    The installer stated that it could not complete the install, and asked to restart. I tried to restart on the MB HD, but got a "grey screen of death". All attempts to reinstall the system software, including a wipe and fresh install is failing after about 30 minutes of it trying to install. (thus the reason I could not reply to the message)

    So, obviously this is a much deeper problem. Off to Apple Support I go.
    :(
     
  10. grafikat thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grafikat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    #10
    update

    Howdy all,
    Well, went to the Genius bar, and at first my problem was diagnosed as a bad hard drive. They replaced it and the same thing happened. (system refused to install). Thie final analysis was that mixing ram is bad.(I had 1g in one slot and 256 in the other). Now, the system ran fine for 4 months with this setup, but apparently was the cause, because putting the original 256 in the secondary slot fixed it right up.

    *sigh*

    So I have to buy another stick of 1g...not necessarily a terrible thing as I have a new job and some cash.

    So, there you have it!

    Cheers, all

    Kat
     
  11. SC68Cal macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    #11
    Hopefully you can get a refund on the bad 1g stick....

    That's unusual though.
     
  12. grafikat thread starter macrumors 6502a

    grafikat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    #12
    Actually, they didn't say that the 1gb was bad, but that it wasn't installed in matched pairs.

    Going back to the Other World computing site, (where I got the first stick) They swear up and down that mixed pairs should be OK. I'll call 'em on Monday and tell them what the fine folks at the Genius bar told me.

    They (apple techs) recommended I just by the second 1gb stick from OWC as it would be much cheaper. As another stick is only $50 now (down from $139 when I got the first one!:rolleyes: ) I may try that, as OWC has a return policy.
     
  13. simkin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #13
    help

    Hi everyone,
    Ive been getting this for the last few days, tried everything to fix it, going to cry.
    A<application><Apple;Carbon;Multimedia><CFMPriv_DVComponentGlue><>

    It seemed to start happening after i updated quicktime pro and I tunes
     

Share This Page