Baseline 27" iMac with Radeon Pro 570

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by lucky3killer, Mar 29, 2018.

  1. lucky3killer, Mar 29, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2018

    lucky3killer macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #1
    Do you own baseline 27" iMac with Radeon Pro 570? If so, please tell me about your graphic settings and FPS in World of Warcraft (in 1080p, 1440p, 5K, etc).

    I'm getting this iMac in few weeks.

    Thanks
     
  2. lucky3killer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #2
    I means World of Warcraft so can’t edit the title.
     
  3. theundad macrumors newbie

    theundad

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    On the Mac I've found the best performance running windowed full screen at 3200x1800. Turn off the anti aliasing (SSAO) you don't need it at that res. Also you'll get maybe +10fps and smoother running from a windows partition/bootcamp. I've got some Logitech 560's on order and I have a feeling the screen tracking RGB's will only work on windows, so I'll probably be using my bootcamp more anyway. Windows is free now (if you don't mind the customisation options being disabled).. So not a big deal.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. lucky3killer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #4
    Nice, how much FPS you get with this setting? Did you tried 5K setting?
     
  5. theundad macrumors newbie

    theundad

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    In windowed full screen 5k is greyed out for me.3200x1800 is max res. The framerate you can see in the screenshot I posted above, it's stays roughly around 50 - 60 FPS. You could try lowering the res to 1920 x1080 if you want to max out the sunshaft/depth effect/SSAO settings. But I prefer to run it at a higher res with the options off/low.
     
  6. lucky3killer, Apr 2, 2018
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2018

    lucky3killer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #6
    Oh I see, interesting. I found out that Radeon Pro 570 is almost similar (3.6) to my GTX 970 (3.9) when come with teraflops, it is usually run at around 60 FPS with max setting (exception of AA - they set at MSAA x4) most of time, but FPS dropped to 30s and 40s when you goes to Suramar City due to poor optimization (It was Blizzard's part). Max all, including SSAA x4 + CMAA - 30s-40s FPS most of time.

    Just wonder, did you encounter low FPS when you goes to Suramar City?

    If play at lower resolution - do you notice any blurs in game? What about blurs if use 3200x1800?
     
  7. theundad macrumors newbie

    theundad

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    No blurring at 3200x1800. Not been to Suramar since the rep grind, that was a long while back. But don't recall having any issues.
     
  8. lucky3killer thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #8
    Nice, I think that low FPS in Suramar City could be related to specific GeForce card issues, rather than AMD card.

    Of course, I'm Nightborne hunter, I do consider Suramar City as my home, I completed all quests are necessary to unlock the allied race. I usually roll the DH Vengeance if I have to fight with several elites in Suramar due to self healing and better DPS (not good as Havoc), also same goes with Argus too.

    Thank you for answering my question and have a nice day, so can't wait to check with new expansion, BFA.
     

Share This Page