Bash on Windows 10

Discussion in 'Alternatives to Mac Hardware' started by maflynn, Apr 26, 2017.

  1. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #1
    I've started playing around with the bash shell that is available in windows 10 anniversary addition.

    So far, I was able to easily install fish, and midnight-commander. Its almost like I'm running ubuntu in a window. I'm getting more and more impressed.
     
  2. I7guy macrumors P6

    I7guy

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Location:
    Gotta be in it to win it
    #2
    I use Ubuntu. After reading through some information on the internet it seems the Bash shell is fairly restrictive in that it can't run programs with a gui. Can you give some examples of how you would use this feature?
     
  3. lowendlinux Contributor

    lowendlinux

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Location:
    North Country (way upstate NY)
    #3
    SSH to one one my droplets, copy and move files, cron to schedule tasks like backup..

    I'm going to have a play with it tonight after what will probably be hours of updates.
     
  4. JoelTheSuperior macrumors 6502

    JoelTheSuperior

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    Location:
    London, UK
    #4
    Why would you want to run GUI applications? What killer GUI apps does Linux have that you can't run on Windows?

    This is mostly useful for developers, particularly web developers who target Linux-running servers and find the Linux subsystem to be invaluable for testing and development in general. They'll still run Atom or Sublime Text or whatever other text editor / IDE they choose on Windows, just with the Linux subsystem to run their other development tools and test.

    With that said, if you are feeling adventurous there's nothing stopping you installing a Windows-friendly X server and using that for GUI-based Linux applications. I got xeyes working at least.
     
  5. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #5
  6. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #6
    I use bash on Ubuntu on Windows quite often. It seems to be getting better and better.
     
  7. ventmore macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #7
    I'm currently using it for Ruby on Rails development on a surface 3 (with external display) whilst I decide whether to buy a new Mac now or wait a little. Works great.

    Also, I'm using the Linux version of Sublime with an X server so as not to potentially corrupt anything. From what I've read, you shouldn't use windows apps to edit files in the Linux file system. Don't know if that extends to my ruby code, but better safe than sorry! :)
     
  8. boast macrumors 65816

    boast

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    #8
    I finally got it enabled this week.

    Was pretty disappointed when I Cisco VPN into work but trying to SSH failed because it doesn't seem to redirect connections through the VPN :(

    And also dragging files into the window to get the path doesn't work because the mount points are different.
     
  9. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #9

    For simple text editing give VS Code a try. Runs on windows, maxos, and linux native apps. And free forever. Very nice code/text editor. Tons of a add-ins for linting and other syntax checking. As much as I hate to admit it, Microsoft does build great coding tools.
     
  10. ventmore macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #10
    Thanks for the suggestion. I Tried it a few months ago, and found it to be a perfectly good editor, but I'm very comfortable with sublime for now. :)
     
  11. maflynn thread starter Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston

Share This Page