Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Not Available

Original poster
Jun 30, 2009
Well... I'm still looking for an IDE to satisfy my needs. What I need is a basic IDE. That is, I don't need any Project sh*t or advanced features. If any of you have ever used Code::Blocks, that's exactly the kind of IDE I need. I simply want to write code in a simple manner. I'm still learning to program, and I find this f*ing thing annoying. I tried vim, but no, I can't be productive in it. I tried Xcode, but, again, it's project-driven, which I hate. And so do NetBeans and Eclipse. I can't waste time creating projects and unlinking stupid sources. I tried Code::Blocks and CodeLite. Code::Blocks is buggy, and Windows-like. Not to mention their web site is down. CodeLite is very limited. No syntax highlighting, no code indentation, no nothing. It's very annoying. I managed to use Xcode 3 to go through a book, so I think I'll give it another go, and, instead of programming, I'll learn how to use the damn interface. Unless any of you has a better idea...

lazydog

macrumors 6502a
Sep 3, 2005
Cramlington, UK
Hi

As far as IDEs go I think Xcode is pretty slim so I would recommend persevering with it. I can imagine you might be getting a bit hacked off if you are trying to use one project for all your work, but really there is no need to - it takes about 2 seconds to create a new project in Xcode.

ß e n

Not Available

Original poster
Jun 30, 2009
Just use a text editor and the command line. Problem solved.

Smultron and Text Wrangler are the two that get recommended the most (personally I prefer Smultron).
Well I tried, but that's the problem with vim. If I forget to declare a variable or have to do a small change to my code, I have to save, recompile, and rerun, which takes A LOT of precious time.