Basic Question about Networking

Discussion in 'macOS' started by DrDoug, Jan 30, 2011.

  1. DrDoug macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #1
    Hi there.

    My question is..

    Is it possible to have a wireless network and a wired LAN connection simultaneously, each being on a different network?

    I would like my iMac to connect wirelessly to the ADSL modem and also have a wired ethernet connection to a blueray media player, so that I can access the library on my iMac.

    The media player can not connect wirelessly and the physical location of everything else means that I can not have them all on the same ethernet connection...

    thanks
     
  2. dusk007 macrumors 68040

    dusk007

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    #2
    In theory it should work. Why don't you just try it. Connect Ethernet and try accessing W-Lan. I know atleast on windows it is possible to connect to two different Ethernet LAN networks at the same time. There is no reason why it shouldn't work.
    I don't know what happens if you have two Gateways set. I would avoid it but with your setup there is no gateway for Ethernet anyway.
     
  3. MisterMe macrumors G4

    MisterMe

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    Wrong question. Connect your modem to a wireless router with LAN ports. Connect your iMac wirelessly to the router. Connect the Blu-ray player to the router via Ethernet.

    However, I am not aware of a Blu-ray player that acts as a media server. It may access content and download firmware updates from the Internet. Most of the Internet content that you access via your Blu-ray player can be accessed directly through your computer.

    Blu-ray players transmit content to TV sets, preferably via a HDMI cable. They do not transmit content via Ethernet.
     
  4. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #4
    Your advise is correct however I think he wants his BD player to access media from his iMac (DLNA I assume).
     
  5. sine-nomine macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Location:
    Finer stores everywhere.
    #5
    I'm still a little hazy on exactly what you need, but it sounds like getting a second router to act as a wireless bridge might do what you need.

    If the problem is that your modem and router are too far from your Blu-Ray player to let you easily run a cable between them, just get the second router, set it up to extend your original wireless network, then put it right beside your Blu-Ray player.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Many ways to skin this cat, but we need more info.

    Does the ADSL/modem router have wired Ethernet ports?
    How far from the ADSL modem/router to the iMac? Blu-Ray?
    How far from the iMac to the Blu-Ray?
    Is there a reason you want these two networks to be separate? Typically the Blu-Ray player would like to be able to connect to the Internet for updates/BD-Live...

    You can use an 802.11n Airport Express ($79 from the Apple refurb store) as a client on your wireless network to connect the BDP to your network via it's wired Ethernet port.

    B
     
  7. DrDoug thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    #7
    OK.. here it is then
    It does indeed, but they are in the lounge (ground floor)
    Modem / Wireless Router in the lounge. Ground floor
    iMac in the Office. 1st Floor
    Blueray player in the bedroom. 2nd floor.

    different floors. lots of stairs.
    Nope. I would be happy to have them on the same network if that is easier.
    Seems like connecting the BR player to a wireless router and then connecting into the wireless network would be the way forward then...
    I do have a spare Netgear router lying around... will try to figure out how that works and get it hooked up to the network...
     
  8. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #8
    Not all routers can be put in client/bridge mode, including the 802.11g model of the Airport Express. The 802.11n version and the Airport Extreme/Time Capsule all work in this situation, but there are occasional problems depending on what device is creating your network in the first place.

    B
     

Share This Page